Ready For Some Gardening Action: Greenhouses Up & Creek Bed Cleaned


This past weekend was a glorious sun-filled two days here; and it was time to get outside and get to work on the garden, the greenhouses and cleaning up after a longer than normal winter.

The last snowflake finally fell about ten days ago and the temperatures started to rise enough that I was comfortable enough to drag out my two greenhouse and start erecting them in their assigned locations.

Last year I only had one small greenhouse, but about a month ago I was able to purchase a second (much larger) one for all my herbs, plants and some edible flowers.

While cleaning up the yard before putting together the greenhouses I spotted our first dandelions along the edge of our back property near the little creek. I couldn't help myself but to snap a few pictures. The bright yellow of these weeds always makes me smile.





This is last year's greenhouse; which by the way is a perfect size for the beginner gardener, that I put together without having the instructions. You wouldn't think this is difficult task, but... it kind of was.

Last year with the instructions it took me about 30 minutes to construct. This year without the instruction's sheet (and my husband harassing me every two minutes) it took me about an hour. Remembering which connector piece goes where was the problem.

MENTAL NOTE At the end of this season- don't remove ALL the connector pieces. LEAVE the greenhouse partially put together.

Who's That In The Brush? A Stalker? A Peeping Tom? No... It's My Guy


I set outside with the morning chill still in the air and knew before too long it would warm up. I wanted to get started early; as I knew putting two greenhouses together and cleaning out the shed would be time-consuming.
Mr Golden D kept coming outside to check on me and finally meandered to the creek to start clearing brush and some overgrown ground cover. I didn't ask for the help so him taking the initiative to do this task was a relief for me; as I wouldn't have to do it myself.
Thank you babe!



Oh NO! Look At All These Pieces!



Now that the first greenhouse is up, cleaned and ready... I moved to the newest addition- the LARGER greenhouse.


This one is about 6ftx6ftx8ft. Nice to move in, move space for more containers and plants/herbs... but it has more pieces. More poles. More connectors.

Oh Heaven HELP ME!





)

After about two hours and few back-tracking steps, I had the new greenhouse up, cleaned and secured against the wind gusts that we get here.

I stepped back from my work and started thinking of all the herbs and plants that would soon be housed inside. Images of basil, dill, chives, peppers of all varieties, tomatoes and so much more were dancing in my head.

Next on my outdoor garden prep list is to have Mr Golden D bring home a reciprocating saw to cut my two 55-gallon pickle barrels in half (long ways) to create a salad greens gardening area which will be along the wooded area at the back of our property. The barrels will be full of spinach, romaine and other leafy greens.





signature.gif

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

You must be so exctied, i cant wait to see it full with growth.

I just started moving a few plants out there after lunch. It was a rainy morning but now the sun is out and it's warming up some.

The way I have it figured... I can grow a heckuva lot more herbs and flowers this year... that has me pretty stoked!

Have fun with the new greenhouse...

I plan on it! I already told my husband if he can't find me in my office, the kitchen or anywhere else in the house to look out in the greenhouses cause I plan on being out there A LOT

Hi, I remember you. I think I have communicated with you in those follower contest blog. good to see you blog again .. I have slow down submitted photos as I am still cannot shot niece photo with my smartphone. O wish you all the best with all your contest posts
Cheers

Thats a nice size little Greenhouse, i may try one of those out soon.

Glad to see the new greenhouse is ip and ready to go.
The day everything can go oytside is coming closer (in Belgium that is May 15th).
My indoor plants - quite a lot - are impatiently waiting to go
Outside and get their permanent spot.
I get more exited every day :0)

(I’ll be launching a ‘gardeningjournal’ challenge on my @simplymike account later today, keep an eye out for it)

Spring has finally made its way here as well! So exciting! Your greenhouses look really nice. I love the shelves in the big one - it all looks so tidy!

Wow, looks like you're getting busy growing :-) I have literally just got back from planting tomato plugs in my greenhouse on the allotment. I'm gonna make a post about tomato growing soon. Good luck with the herbs and edible flowers @goldendawne. I look forward to seeing how they come along

It’s so exciting, isn’t it? It’s almost thát time of the year again. :0)
I remember setting up such a greenhouse last year - lol - it took us some to figure it out too.

I’m really curious what you mean with cutting the barrels in half and turn them into a garden. For some reason, I can’t assemble a picture of it in my mind.
Be sure to take some pics!
Could make a great entry for my new challenge ;0)

Haha... Thank God for loving partners who help even when they weren't asked in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12