You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Seed Order Of 2018 HAS ARRIVED

Turns out it is about half an acre in size. It will be a huge jump from growing in 2 separate 4'x8 'raised beds

YEAH... I am so jealous of this! But one of our goals in 2018 is to find our property.. so... hopefully we will.

I have seen people who use empty TP rolls and the little coffee K-cups for seed starters! SUch great ways to reuse and not waste!

Big steps at becoming self sustaining and reducing the cost at the grocery store !!

I, for one, am tired of relying on BIG companies to keep me alive. My husband can hunt, I can shoot a gun and grow a garden, then preserve the harvest.
I raised chickens, ducks and pheasants.. we can do it!

Sort:  

I was jealous for the longest time, dreaming of owning a farm so I can pick up the trades and skills that my Grandfather had achieved when he was alive. From farming, to gardening, to bee keeping, to making his own maple syrup and wine...it was paradise for me as a kid. When we visited the farm we could pick apples, grapes, blackberries, and all kinds of vegetables and just enjoy it all with my cousins. I want our new home to be like that. In August we got that. Now for the baby steps in making it our reality...just wish I had some maple trees to make our own syrup!
As for seed starting, I am tired of wasting money on seed trays. Granted it does not cost too much, but season after season it does add up. At least with TP it is a guarantee that we will have rolls, and enough for the spring sowing season. And yes, I am all about reusing and not tossing it into the trash. For the yogurt containers I line them with newspaper that way when its time to transplant I am not breaking the fragile roots.
Our garden is our first step at saving money. In March or April we will get a few chickens (layers and meat birds) to start out with. Then some rabbits and dairy goats. But first I need to build the infrastructure. Again, all baby steps.
I hope you find your property! We got 10 acres and I think we will be just fine with that size.

FYI, being that you said your husband hunts; when looking at properties be sure your are out in the COUNTY and not within city limits. Our farm is in the city limits, and we live next to a subdivision. Long story short, I cannot hunt my own farm. Missouri law says I can, but the city says no! I am too close to a subdivision. And this is what I am missing out on....UGH!!! The only joy we get is my girls naming all the deer. Ha Ha Ha (I am crying on the inside!!)

Have a great and blessed morning!

Kenny
Pfeiler Family Farm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54