You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Homestead & My Homesteading Life Then And Now

I read so many posts on steemit about bees and beekeeping. But I have a HUGE underlying fear of bees. I know there are a few bee farms (not sure what they are called) within a short drive from us and I gladly purchase their goods and honey. But to be near bees... I just can't do it.

Sort:  

When I was five years old I fell into a wild honeybee nest and was stung hundreds of times. My mother also developed a life-threatening allergy to bees and wasps... Although I'm not allergic, I still have a careful attitude around the bees. But needless to say i am excited to get some soon on our farm because I am such a honey bear!!! So at least I will be wearing full bee-suit regalia and gloves, and utilizing that smoker very well. hehe...

Great list @goldendawne!

I am with @goldendawne on this one. I don't think I am allergic to honey bees, but I am deathly allergic to yellow jackets. I do everything I can to help the honey bees thrive and will be putting several new patches of flowers in for them as I have time. But I don't think I could tend to them. I can handle rats, snakes, spiders, whatever... doesn't bother me a bit, but bees... (shivering lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46