Bottling Wine At Home: Dago Red? Well... More Like Dago Pinky

gg.jpg

The New Dago Red Wine- We Call It Dago Pinky

Lovin' these bottle covers. Using a standard blow dryer and they shrink-wrapped to the cap and bottle neck. Final product result is below


Having a snow day with my husband... snow coming down in droves... internet connection spotty at best; so we spent the morning bottling our wine and getting the next batch in the fermentation pail.

While the color is NOT what we were anticipating, it still has the taste he remembers from his younger years. So instead of calling it Dago Red, we have renamed it Dago Pinky


1.jpg



s.jpg


We picked out these pint size bottles online and this is just a comparison of what they are next to a regular bottle of store bought wine. I really like the sleek style they have. Granted the amount of wine is not as much as a commercially bought bottle, but these are for family and friends, so I'm not too concerned.



r.jpg

Final product. Now I just need to make some labels. To open, just pull the gold tab & pour!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com



Sort:  

Nice work #goldendawne! I'm a wine maker myself! That looks like a fine brew. Keep it quiet or the neighbors will be nagging you to give them a bottle!

I guess making wine is one way to get to know the neighbors. We've lived here two years almost and I've only met two.... just not a social person- lol

How fancy! I am going to make mead and wine from the wild blackberries i have growing EVERYWHERE on our homestead. I cant wait for them to sprout!

I was reading about mead in one of my new fermenting books. Sounds different but the instructions were made to seem easy. I may have to look into it more; I think my son would enjoy that one, versus wine.

The Barefoot Riesling is one of my wife’s favorites! What flavor is the wine?

That bottle of wine? I had to dust it off before I took that picture! It's been on the wine shelf for.... not sure how long- lol

The Dago Pinky flavor? It's almost like a pink zinfandel (or so hubby said) I think. Kind of dry but yet a little sweetness too.

oh wow, that looks great. Beautiful bottling, so elegant compared to our exposed corks. I love those bottles!

You can actually buy the cork covers online fairly inexpensive. Can't reuse them but for giving away as gifts, they are perfect.

I might have to do that, they really do look lovely and professional.

classy @goldendawne! i bet that will be really nice to sip sitting out on the back porch on a warm summer's eve!! <3 sooo satisfying to get it bottled, i bet!

Maybe one day... when the 9 inches of snow we got yesterday melts... oh wait!!! Another 3-5 expected over the weekend! Not liking Ma Nature very much right now- lol

Looks great!! I bet you can't wait to drink it! Are you letting it age, or drinking it straight away?

Letting it age some. We did sample some and hubby said, "wow! Yeah, it's definitely got alcohol in it". Neither of us drink so the alcohol kinda got us right away.

Haha! I know what you mean!

Nice bottles but did I miss the post about how you made the wine?

Yes maybe... I did a post back in December I think about making it when I started to learn more about fermenting.

Looks good. Thanks for sharing. I like the bottles, they are classy looking.
@tincanjunction

Thanks and yes, they do have a certain savvy-ness that I really like!

What an ingenious top. I like that you can use a blow drier (is that like a hair drier) to shrink them.

Did you ferment the wine in demi-johns? That takes me back to my childhood when making your own wine was all the range. It was made from kits though rather than fresh produce. But I remember being fascinated, watching it bubbling away in the airing cupboard.

I never actually tasted it as I was too young. Have you tasted yours?

Yes hair dryer and blow dryer are one in the same.

I'm not much of a wine or alcohol drinker but I did sample the final product with my husband. It has a dry taste at first but then it has a sweetness on the back end of the swallow. I was pretty impressed with it.

That wine looks delicious. I'm not much of a fan of red wines, but I'll enjoy a pink wine from time to time.

Me either- red wines are definitely drier than white wines. But I added a little dissolved sugar/water just as we bottled (as per the recipe directions) and it was perfect- not too dry, not too sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81