Christmas Chicken Corn Croquettes .....This Will be a Guaranteed Winner with the Family....Can freeze them for Lunches!

Today I am cooking for those days when I want to go winter hiking or Snowshoeing with the kids and we need a warm lunch and will be too tired to make something. These are so incredibly tasty. They will become a new family favorite. I typically only make them over the holidays, and serve them for a Supper with a salad, or lunch with a dinner roll and a bowl of soup. Not terribly expensive to make and they are perfect for the freezer for a fast meal on the go. I motivate and encourage you all to give it a try, just for something different from the supper boredom.

Chicken Corn 12.jpg

The Recipe:

3 Tbsp of Butter or Margarine
3 Tbsp of Flour any kind will do
1 Cup of warm to hot milk any kind will do
2 cups of canned Kernel corn any kind will do but not cream corn.
1 egg Yolk
1 3/4 cups of cooked chicke, I use boneless skinless but have made it with the other kind I just boiled the chicken to cook
a dash of salt and pepper, and any other spices you wish for taste, I spice my chicken when cooking it, to add flavor

Chicken Corn 8.jpg

Chicken corn 7.jpg

Chicken corn 6.jpg

Chicken corn 5.jpg

Chicken corn 4.jpg

Chicken corn 3.jpg

Chicken corn 2.jpg

chicken corn 1.jpg

The Coating

3 bowls of a generous portion of each, flour, eggs beaten, and breadcrumbs.

Heat Butter in the saucepan. When hot add 3 tbsp of flour and mix it all up, about 1 minute on medium heat. Mix in the 1 cup of warm to hot milk and let cook to thicken for about 3 minutes on medium heat. Add corn (drained) and the egg yolk. Chop your cooked chicken up into small pieces and add it to the mix of corn. Transfer to a large dinner plate cover with cling wrap (Seran wrap) and chill for about 40 minutes in fridge. Then take a handful and roll it in the flour, then dip it in the bowl of beaten eggs, then the bowl of breadcrumbs. Then you transfer that to a pan with hot oil and deep fry them just enough for them to be browned, as they are already cooked. And VOILA they are done. This recipe is enough for 4 servings. They are very filling.

Chicken corn 9.jpg

Chicken Corn 11.jpg

Happy Christmas Cooking Trails!!!

Sort:  

Now, this was great! Glad that you shared it with us, definitely gonna try this. Thank you for the recipe.

OMG they are truly to die for. LOL easy and messy but well worth it. I just put 3 per ziploc baggy and throw in the freezer. Thank you

Now I'm really very hungry after reading your comment. You delivered as you promised ;). You are most welcome.

Thank you! I made Blueberry mini pies! You will be starving after you check out that post. Blueberries from my garden this summer!

I will go over and check it out as soon as possible. :) Wow! That is a great information.

They do look super tasty - it's on my recipes to try list.

You will thank me,,....Warning it is messy and trust me chill for the time.

I am so going to make these, I have a feeling my grand children would love them as they like chicken nuggets.

My kids beg for more! I find chicken nuggets to dry. This has a lite creamy filling! Like a chicken cream puff! Lol good luck

I made them last evening and we loved them, however I have a lot of filling left over (only two of us) so I may incorporate the filling into a casserole of some kind. Delicious!

Oh man! Those look SOOOOOO good!
Dang husband's cholesterol... the holiday feasts are going to be a challenge this year!

I fried them extra virgin olive oil, too help with that chloestral thing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gardengirlcanada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This looks easy enough to throw together on even a busy day! Thanks, I'll be saving this one.

Not gonna lie they are a little messy, this is why when I make it I make a double batch, and throw 3 per baggy ziploc and throw them in the freezer for those lazy nights cause we all have them and I dislike strongly eating out at restaurants. Thanks

Thanks for the tip.😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91