Brrr....The Bird's Need to Eat too...HOMEMADE BIRD SUET!

I have so many birds on my homestead, and try my best to feed them. This recipe is a real hit with my Grossbeaks, Cardinals, and Blue Jays and every so often, the squirrels and Woodpeckers will nibble too.

suet 2.jpg

Here is the easy as pie recipe:

1 cup crunchy peanut butter
1 cup flour
2 cups quick cook oats
2 cups cornmeal
1 cup lard
1/3 cup sugar

suet 1.jpg

Melt the peanut butter and lard and add remaining ingredients and cool. I pour it into a 8 X 8 pan and place outside to chill, on a snowy patch. Then I cut it up into cake sizes and place them into my feeders.
I like to add some dried fruits like in Christmas Fruit cake, and fresh frozen cranberries. The blue Jays really like the cranberries.

suet 3.jpg

suet 4.jpg

I know my birds will love this.

Happy Winter Trails Folks

Sort:  

Oh WOW! i haven't made one of these in years!!!
I used to make them with my kids and we'd hang them outside the corn crib and shed when the kids were younger.

Oh man! Thanks for the wonderful memory!

Good Times when the kids were small eh? Just have to make new memories or traditions for when they all come home. Thanks @goldendawne

OR the grandkids in my case.... I have three grandsons and two granddaughters.. ALL under the age of 6. They would LOVE this!

We used to do this when we lived in Canada. It was so cold for the poor birds. Now tht we are down south, they just help themselves to my fruit. lol

Wonderful job, I never even thought of this!! I'm sharing with my Inlaws <3 <3 Thanks for the article.

Yes please do. It's a fun project to make with your boys. NS birds need the love too, my friend.

Its great that you are helping the wild folks

This looks better then most of the cookies I have tried lately! Those lucky birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54