You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Chickens - Plans for Building a New, Bigger Coop!

How exciting that you are deciding to keep quail. As you know, I am really enjoying mine. I'm still hoping to get that second generation underway, but my first batch are really earn their keep. They lay and lay and take so little room, eat very little and make the prettiest sounds. I can't wait to see your plans. I am going to be doing a larger coop for my quail for the Spring, too, as I really want to increase their numbers so at some point they can also provide meat. Good luck and I can't wait to see another quail aficionado get the Quail bug!

Sort:  

How many did you start with? Did you go with eggs to incubate or did you buy chicks? What breed do you have? Sorry so many questions. I'm asking everyone that has quail so I can best figure out how many to start with. I've gotten varying answers.

I can't wait to get started!

I ordered 25 eggs on ebay and ended up with 15 full size. I have Coturnix and you can get these in so many coluor variety, but I wanted the wild colour so they would be more like our wild quail. I like hatching eggs, so that is why I went that route, but ordering chicks would probably be fine, or seeing if anyone locally has them. You will love them! And they are more tame and sweet then I imagined. I thought they would be flighty but mine come out when I open the door to feed them and I just pick them back up and pop them back in. They will sit in my hands, some of them. I figure the friendlier will always be my breeder/egg quail as I could not eat them if they love me :) But I do hope to have some for met some day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63