You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hugelkultur bed started but there is a logistical obstacle.

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago

Excellent! I wish I had known about this when I had to cut down my beloved japenese maple the other year because it fell in a storm. I cut it into a million branches and got rid of most of it (gave it away to other gardeners for mulch) but I do have some left I guess. I don't think I will be able to garden this year in a real way, but this is good to know about for the future.

Sort:  

These take a good amount of work to setup. They do the best the second year after the layers have broken down some. But once going they're supposed to be pretty self sustaining if you plant perennials and self seeding plants. They can be put inside of raised planters, also, to keep them looking nicer and use like a traditional garden bed. You lose the planting space on the sides, though. You never know, maybe someone can help you get one setup now, then immediately plant, then this fall and next year you'll be pretty close to being on autopilot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43