You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY FIRST SWEET POTATO STARTS

I can't believe you are not a fan of the sweet potato tubers. I much prefer them to regular potato but they are expensive in the super market where we live and it is too cold here to grow them. Maybe one day when we have a high tunnel...

Also there are several different varieties. What we call them are Yams (orange flesh, most common around here), Sweet potatoes (light yellow flesh is a bit firmer an sweeter, Asian or Purple sweet potato. (usually purple skins, sometimes near white flesh and sometimes purple flesh, sweetest.)

Sort:  

I'm not a big fan of sweet foods in general. If I experimented with them in more savory dishes, I would probably like them more. I have seen a handful of varieties, but not where I am now. Most of the variety was in California. All it would take is just one or two to grow for slips. Once you get your big house built, you could grown them indoors on a south facing window. Maybe you could even make a small insulated cold frame for them.

If we don't have the funds for a high tunnel right away I think I will try the cold frame idea. Lots of stuff I would like to grow that just doesn't quite finish in our short season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44