Sort:  

In the spring I'll be putting a root cellar next to my cabin to put the converted to fridge freezer in, the solar panel power usage will be limited and non existant when vented in the winter. While I have solar panel power, electric refrigeration is the cheapest and easiest. If I had no solar panel power I would be using one of your methods. Stacking ice in winter for the summer is a lot of work! :)

We have been thinking of using a dead freezer for a cellar. Solar is pointless in the winters up here. Not enough light. I would have to cut a lot of trees to get the light. The sun stays low on the horizon.
In the summer it would be amazing!
I think harvesting ice wouldn’t be that bad, lot of work but you have to stay fit for when TSHTF. LOL

Ultimately i could see eating fresh veggies in the summer and root cellar veggies with sprouts and micro greens in the winter. Fresh eggs year round. There's not much else I need to refrigerate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45