Sort:  

Our is currently a wood frame with a plastic sheeting cover. I went cheap and now not even one year later I need to replace some of the plastic after a windy thunderstorm. We will eventually upgrade to a glass type greenhouse. Northern tool has some pretty good ones at a reasonable price. I have talked with folks that have one and they like it, well built. The only complaint I have heard is that they are hard to keep cool in the summer, but I think that is easily fixable. Let us know what you decide to do I would be very interested in how it turns out. Thanks for the comment!

Thanks for the info! Its hard when you just go online. There are people who swear by both of them! i.e: "The plastic doesn't break. Its much more durable than glass." and vice versa.
Thanks for your honest answer, and I will for sure let you know how it goes!
Oh, one more question:
We are thinking about raising some heritage birds for meat. I noticed in your pics, that they are in an uncovered fence, temporary fence. We've had problems trying to keep our layers contained in one area without flying over/crawling under the fence. How do you keep them there? Just clip their wings?

We use a mobile coop with a "Premier One" Fence system. We also clip on of the wing on each bird so they cannot fly away. Our fenced in area is 80' X 80' and we move the flock weekly behind our cattle to help with fly control and to get them into new bugs. Having them on pasture reduces the amount of feed we need to give and makes for healthier birds. I am assuming you have hawks like we do and they can be a problem. To curb that we try to attract crows to live in our woods, hawks and crows don't get along, the crows keep the hawks out. We had a guy bring an electronic caller over and they have not left, not sure of any other way to attract them, but we are sure happy to have them.

Get your self a big rooster and one that is semi aggressive, he will keep the hens from picking on each other and he will protect them from predators. ( I have a short post coming out soon on a hawk attack and how it turned out). The last thing I would say is don't put you hens out to pasture until they are 14 to 16 weeks old. Before that they are just to small and are easy prey for all sorts of animals. Good Luck! Let us know if we can be of any more help....

Thank you so much! We will definitely be using this info. It's been ridiculously hard to find out what to do with them! We have quite a few crows around our property already, not sure why, but I didn't know that crows and hawks don't get along! I will tell my siblings about this, and hopefully we can put it into practice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57