from the other half...

in #homestead7 years ago

I decided to give this a shot with a little downtime I have before afternoon chores.

A new life and style...

When we decided to move to KY, I never thought I would be on a working farm again.  I grew up on over 400 acres of IL flatland.  The scenery is better here!  My family farmed grain and livestock and of course we had chickens. I was the youngest of 8 children so my parents found the best way to provide for all of us was to grow it ourselves. Which included a large garden and huge strawberry patch!  Now of course we still utilized the grocery store in town for the things that do not grow.  But I know the value of a farmer and am excited to be taking a bigger role in it here in KY.   I will tell you that the locals here, know the value of a farmer as well.  EVERYBODY has a garden!  Makes it a little tough to find people to sell to but when we get there, it will happen for us. 

Paying it forward....

Right now, we are helping friends in need.  At the beginning of a regular gardening season, my best friend since we moved here fell and broke her arm.  Guess what? She was out of commission for several weeks so no garden for her, right?!   WRONG!!!

We have learned to give back to them as she and her husband have provided so much knowledge and inspiration to us.    I planted a garden for them.  All kinds of veggie bearing plants.  They supplied the seeds and soil components, compost, top soil, peat moss, hummus. We started many plants in our greenhouse (in the pre-normal gardening season) and as they grew to be two inches with four leaves they were transported to their home and planted there.   Everything was growing so well.   All was well and good. I was so proud of my work for the benefit of our wonderful friends!

And havoc struck...

Deer (nothing like the hindenberg) found them. IT was heartbreaking to go and help out and weed and see that there was nothing to weed.  I love deer, they are absolutely beautiful and I know they need to eat, but doggone it!  So now since our garden is a bit further away from where the deer mingle, we are their nearby produce stand.  Since they are vegetarians, they need about 2-4 pounds of the basics each week.  It is vital to their diet.

The yield is bountiful...

We still have enough to can for ourselves and give them some jars for winter eats also.  We are blessed so they can be blessed.

I will leave you with this thought...

When your garden produces more than you need, let people know....the reward of giving back to those that have helped you get to where you are is an amazing feeling!  I want to share that with everybody!

Heartbreaking vs Heartwarming...which one would you choose?

Have a great day everybody!

Mrs. SVF

 Until next time, ya'll have a good day now! 


Sort:  

This is an uplifting post!
Paying it forward is not something most people do.
Too many selfish people (the "ME" generation) in society these days and it is so refreshing to see someone give back.

It is refreshing to ourselves to give back as well, thank you for the comment.

Heartwarming...every time.

Always great to see good work rewarded with friendship. Aince we haven't been here too long it is nice to know the quality of our friends that we have met already is refreshing our minds and hearts! Thanks for the comment.

Wow, My wife's first post! Great job Honey! I think you have got the hang of it.... Love ya!

must be becuz i am at your desk, in your chair....

This is an uplifting post!
Paying it forward is not something most people do.
Too many selfish people (the "ME" generation) in society these days and it is so refreshing to see someone give back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42