Collecting more old hay for my gardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homestead5 years ago

While growing my potatoes in hay may be easy to harvest them. I find I must add hay as the season goes on. It gets matted down by the rain and causes it to get really compact.

Luckily a farmer I met has a source of old hay he does not mind me taking. So I drive out to his farm with a bunch of 27 gallon plastic containers.

When I arrived I was greeted by two Roosters. They clucked and walked off as I got out of my truck. I guess they were looking for bugs to eat in the old hay.

It took me about an hour to fill up my containers. I popped their lids on and loaded them up in my truck and headed back to my garden.

I wonder how often I'll need to add hay. If its like mulch it's usually once a year.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm glad you found a bottomless source for old hay! That's super handy. That first photo is beautiful.

@goat-girlz me too, I am glad I found a farmer with it. Yeah it sure is a lovely land, i got there right before sun rise and it was still a little misty outside.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33