Spray foam insulation, is it a hero or a villian?

in #homestead5 years ago

Has anyone run into this problem with spray foam? I plan to use this on my net zero house, and just want to know what you guys have learned on foam.

Youtube video on foam problems:


Spray foam insulation, is it a hero or a villian?
Has anyone had any problems with spray foam on your own place. I am trying to figure out the risk level, before I decide weather or not to use it.

I am interested in the sealing effects, but I am concerned about bad chemical toxicity with a bad shoot. It does appear to be rare, but I will need it in a crawl space under the floor, so it does worry me about remediation if the spray mixes badly.

Let me know if you have had this done please, and are you happy with the results? Thanks guys!

Sort:  

sir smithlabs! never used it.

I will need that seal on the crawl space to hit my zero net goal. I saw a video of aman using the other method, instead of downsizing, and insulating, he was building a 2400 sq foot house, and he put 60 300 watt panels on it. Then he back fed the power line so he has no batteries.

Brute force and money, but little sense!

:'(

How can you have a system with no batteries? I don't know what back fed means.

A battery free system feeds power during the day into the power line; and at night they buy power back from the lines. With a large solar panel field you can make enough power to end up level at the end of the day.

:)>

Okay but what happens if the grid goes down? Then you have no power?

If you are good, you could have power when it is sunny. Other than that, Nope; totally grid tied. Also VERY expensive!

:'(

oh, well that sounds like a terrible system!

It is a liberal attempt at a net zero house, so it Is a terrible system! You sell power at 1/4 the rate, and buy it back at full load. So you have to make three times the power that you use, to break even on your bill.

:)>

Never used it so I can't help you with my view.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I have not used it in this large a scale myself. I need a good seal, and a reasonable "R" value, especially in the floor!

It seems that several thin coats is best.

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66