Introductory Post

in #homestead6 years ago

Sooooooo. Where to start?

I'm a mom of 3. Teenagers and up. We have almost 6 acres in central North Carolina. Our deed says over 6 acres but that's another story. I'm what you might call a beginning homesteader. We have chickens, ducks, guinea fowl, guinea hogs, rabbits and sheep. My husband has a full time job, I don't. Technically. I'd call taking care of our livestock and building the necessary structures for said animals a job. But not having a 'job', I do get free time to myself so that's nice. An advantage of being 'self employed'.

Even though I don't have a paying job, I would like to make a little pocket change. Enough to help pay for some of the building materials would be nice but not gonna hold my breath. If I even get enough to buy a packet of seeds, that'll be cool too. I heard about steemit from another beginning homesteader on youtube.

Speaking of youtube, I do have a youtube channel but I haven't uploaded anything to it for months. People expect a nicely structured channel on youtube, and rightly so. But I've always been kind of a wallflower and not really one to put myself out there a lot. Youtube videos require a lot of time and work to really come out nice. I'm just not into putting that much into something that's just a hobby. I've got other hobbies that I'd much rather spend my time in. Besides, I'm not the kind of person to act really excited on the camera so I'm not extremely entertaining in videos.

I do have an instagram and I do post some pictures and videos there. I like it better because I can just take a picture or video, post it and walk away. Also, video posts to instagram are only a minute long so that keeps me from rambling, which I tend to do.

Now, the written word I can do. I've had a blog before. I don't think I kept up with it because I'd also started with youtube and that took a lot of my time. But I've always been better at expressing myself in writing. It gives me time to think about what I want to say and work things out in my head. I can also do it when I have free time. I'm not constrained to get something done by a certain time or anything. I can write as I'm doing other things. Like right now, I'm writing this and playing a video game. I think of what I want to say as I'm playing the game, tab out of the game, write what I want to say and then go back to the game.

Each day I try to set 'projects' for myself of things I need to get done. Like yesterday I put a wire shelf in the sheep shelter that I call the hay loft. Because it's for storing hay. Before that, the hay was stored in the trunk of my car. That got messy real quick. Today's project was to clean out some plastic bins in preparation for some chicks I have coming towards the end of the month. And to do the dishes. I'm still sort of working on the dishes. I hate housework. I'd much rather be outside building something. Tomorrow I need to figure out how big of an area 100ft of wire fencing will give me. I also need to go by the local hardware store and get some u-posts to start getting the posts in for said fence.

I think that's all I've got to say for now. Tomorrow I will also try to get pictures of all of the animals and do sort of a roll call post. After all, a picture is worth a thousand words. No guarantees though. I never know how my day will go until after it's over so things are subject to change. See ya in the next one.

Sort:  

Excuse the pictures in the comments. Apparently it's the only way I can upload images for my cover picture.

I could not get a photo into my profile either. I never thought of doing this! Good idea.

I think I got this idea from the FAQ page they have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77