It's Almost Time for Strawberries

in #homestead6 years ago

It won't be long and the strawberries will be coming in. It looks like it will be a good year based on the amount of blooms.
20180329_081516.jpg

We hope your gardens are thriving. Happy spring!

Sort:  

Nice, I have strawberries as well. I’ve never had a great batch where the strawberries don’t strivel up and get eaten by bugs though.

Sorry to here about the bugs eating them, maybe this is the year?

Ok Chris...you can quit rubbing it in! Check out my last post...@simms50

That’s crazy! It’s not even April yet

Welcome to Arkansas! I say that with truth from our family to yours. We have lived in 7 different states and this is our HOME!!

7 states? That’s a lot of moving! As much as I would love to move south, I’m not sure how I’d handle the summer heat. Do you get much for bad summer storms? Tornado warnings?

We do get some storms and some tornadoes but very few compared to Oklahoma and states further South. I must admit the summers can be hot and dry but every few years you get a really nice one making the hot once worth it (again my opinion)! You will also have 2+ additional months to grow and harvest food. Maybe not the case for you (I think you live North also) but it is true from when we lived in north central IL.

Yay! We have strawberries growing too. Ours are in buckets though, in the greenhouse, where they are safe from marauding goats and chickens. ;)
P1050643.jpg
Fresh strawberries are the best!

LOL - thankfully ours are outside "their" fencing at our place! They look really healthy!

That's good! There are definitely some downsides to free-range chickens. They will scratch up and poop on everything you love... :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80