You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Boosting Your Homestead or Garden with Native Plants

in #homestead6 years ago (edited)

I enjoyed learning about some new to me natives. I am in a somewhat similar region to you in southern Oregon - not quite as coastal and not as arid as eastern OR/WA.

This year I am trying to propagate from seed some Western Mugwort, Camas, Arrowleaf Balsamroot, as well as many wild non-native plants.

btw, are you on discord yet? I'd love to invite you to our Homesteaders Co-op chat room, as well as a few others that I think you may enjoy mingling in :) https://discord.gg/t2faQnD

Sort:  

Thank you! There is so much to learn about our native plants - I know the trees and shrubs fairly well but still learning about the herbs.

I'm not on discord - I never tried it before but it has come up several times in the comments here on Steemit. Let me check it out and I will get back to you.

Yes there certainly are! I am very much a newbie to natives partly because I have only lived in this region for 1 1/2 years and also because though I hiked through native ecosystems as a youth I wasn't exposed to much more beyond that until I got into gardening and permaculture much later in my life. It is so fun to learn. I'll look forward to hear more about native plants in Olympia. You might check out Kelly of @ofsedgeandsalt who has a website https://www.ofsedgeandsalt.com/ where she not only provides botanical profiles of native plants (of Northern California and surrounding regions) which is probably helpful to us in OR and WA for the sake of being prepared for phytomigration and global warming. She also has a podcast and wildcrafts wild medicines.

I look forward to see you on discord if you make it on there! It can be accessed via website, mobile app or desktop app per your preference.

I will check out Kelly's site - thanks for the suggestion! I have been very busy and have not a had a chance to check out discord but I have not forgotten and it is on my list!

Thanks for the update. No worries. You are busy doing good things! Talk to you soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47