Homesteading Happiness Is....

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

Relaxing

I work in a high-stress career. A career where poor decisions can cost you your life. Living in a constant state of alertness for the past 15 years is taxing on a person. But, after I leave work I get to commute back to the county... back to my little piece of heaven. Homesteading is my escape into a relaxing country setting, away from the noise and violence of the city. I can sit on my front porch swing and watch the cows across the street. I can work in my garden as the chickens roam the yard. I can relax and let me guard down. 


A Tangible Reward for Your Labor

Homesteading also brings happiness through good old-fashioned physical labor. There is no feeling that compares to pulling a fresh vegetable off the vine... It's amazing to plant a seed and watch over time as your hard work pays dividends. Growing vegetables or livestock that you can feed your family is very rewarding. It's a ton of work, but it's a labor of love. I can work all day on the homestead in the blazing heat, go inside at the end of the day exhausted, and still have a big ol' smile on my face... Why? Because I know that I will see the fruits of my physical labor. 


Getting Back to Basics

There's something about homesteading that makes me feel connected to the land, my family, and our ancestors. Fresh air, fertile soil, and greens fields... I feel good about the work I'm doing and the lessons I'm passing along to my children. My children get to see animals up close and help take care of them. Through chores and outdoor play, I feel like they're receiving an education as equally valuable as anything they learn at school.

Sort:  

Isn't it great that homesteading is not just an effective way to reduce stress, but it even pays you amazing rewards additionally, instead of the other way round? Thank you for the beautiful post.

Thank you for the entry @nerd-minion. Seeing the difference between the tranquility of the countryside and the bustle of the city every day must be quite something.

Thank you for opportunity to share!

Congratulations @nerd-minion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61728.21
ETH 2680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56