Too Good To Be True? What do you think?

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

I am in the process of securing a large piece of land. It is more land than I, myself can use. 75 acres of the pretties land Southern British Columbia has to offer. It is an abandoned homestead of more then 100 years in the Christina Lake area.

So I have an idea. I want to devide 50 acres into 5 acer parcels and sell them off for $17,000 each, leaving a further 4.5 acers as communal space. The purchaser will own that land, to do with as they choose. The 5 acer parcels can be sold if the purchaser chooses, or past on to their next generation. For all intended purposes the land will belong to the purchaser. The community would have to be given the first option to buy back.

The money I collect from the sale of the 5 acer lots will be used to establish an infrastructure, power, telephone and satellite. Legal contracts will have to be drawn up by a lawyer before I can be more specific. This is just an idea I am putting out into the Ether to see if I get any interest. If you think you would like to own 5 acers of very pretty bare land to build a House, Cottage, put your RV or you have any questions, leave me a reply, let's talk.

Please upvote and resteem so I may reach as many people as possible.

Sort:  

Hi, I'm in Victoria. Not sure if I'm interested cause I already have a couple of ecovillagey land projects on the go but I will follow!

I think you might need to form a coop or strata or something in order to divide the parcels without subdividing. I would want to know about water, soil type, terrain, what plants etc. are there now, what was there before, accessibility, noise...

Maybe hook up with some people or orgs already doing this, if you haven't already. Good luck!

Yes, it would be done as a Strata! This is BC, water everywhere! ..lol. It is somewhat remote so NO NOISE! The Lake is 10k away, Kettle River ( some of the best fly fishing in BC) is 10 minutes away. There is a stream on the proprety, but our intention is to build a Keyline Damn for water capture. It is an abandond farm, with 100 year old fruit trees scattered throughout, and 100 year old seed bed of all kinds of flowers, some wild, some intentionally planted. Terrain is rolling grassy hills with carnifurous tree lines. In other words, it is perfect!

Wow, sounds amazing.

What effects would the dam have on the stream? Is this kind of diversion allowed?

Looks beautiful, I have been looking for some land. Had not considered going way out there. Water is my primary deciding factor. Do any of the parcels you propose have water frontage?

Yes! The land has a river on it. I am going back up there this weekend to follow the river. I am looking for a spot where there is a sharp drop in elevation. I have been considering different sources of renewable power. I like Hydroelectric, so I search for the least expensive way to install it.

semantics, I have been thinking about what you said, reguarding water. You see, I am a Permaculturist! It is all about capturing and holding water. It really wouldn't matter what piece of land I am on, there would be ponds throughout.

I can get on board with capturing water, in fact rainwater capture is the most natural form of water and I would indeed be doing plenty of that. I am still bent on water frontage. I just got on the fence though. My plan was to always go it alone with my family (the purchase of a property that is) but your proposal includes community which is definitely a very compelling resource. Maybe more so than water. Keep me in the loop. I haven't made any decision's yet.

It looks so beautiful and peaceful, my ideal, but I would never move to Canada.
I hope you find like-minded people and put your plans into being. Sounds great.

That is funny you should say that. Are you in the US? The property is about 3 minutes from the boarder.....lol

Unfortunately I am in Ireland. I live as a solitary in the heart of the countryside here with my little pack of dogs.
I used to have goats, ducks, chickens and geese.
I have never yet been Canada, it looks so beautiful. I would love to see it, but I have family here. That is the only reason I stay.

Hey, I'm interested. Just moved to Grand Forks. Let's talk.

I will know more soon!

If Steem goes to the moon before all the parcels are sold, I'm in!

When subdividing land, try to think of how the land naturally divides. It is simpler to market parcels of 5 acres each, but its an imposed order.
I do some larger scale designs and im looking holistically at the land and its energy flows, resources and ideal house sites. Then calculate that.
Because you may find it has many more ideal house sites and can sustain higher populations.
Perhaps some parcels are like a summer camp deal, you own it and come stay from spring till fall. This is good for the mobile people and matches the times of resource abundance.
Also designing the whole first can help you plan where damsites can be, where a long term timber forest could go that feeds a property development fund.
Smart communities look how to earn for the future to maintain infrastructure in 20 years time.

Hope that gives you some ideas

Rev

The land is not being subdivided! The purchase is an interest only. And YES! I would like to find people who will look at the land as a whole. Build our water resevours, I like Keyline Damns. Then I would like to strategically use Keylines to saturate the land to bedrock, before we draw boundries. It is something I hope can be worked on as a group project for the greater good of the land and all parties involved. It is all just an idea right now anyway. But, I have had a great responce. Both here and on FB.

Congratulations @lukigrl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67