Regrowing your vegetable again and again.

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

KIMG2414.JPG

I have seen some really good articles on some of the homestead blogs about replanting your vegetable scraps and letting them regrow. We do this to produce food for us and our livestock.

KIMG2321.JPG

We take the cuttings of several vegetables and replant them. We do this with Romaine lettuce, carrots, celery, onions especially green onions, potatoes, and pineapples. I believe you can also do garlic and bok choy but I have not tried those yet. I started doing this when I was tossing celery and carrot end cuts into my worm bin for food and they would always start to sprout so I started moving them into a separate bucket to grow. Eventually I started just planting them in the buckets to begin with. I have had great success with this and usually rotate a good amount of buckets like this that gives me a nice production for my mealworm farm and other livestock.

KIMG2412.JPG

You can also use this system on some microgreens. After you take the first cut for sale you can leave them and let them regrow and use them yourself or they make a great fodder for livestock. The only downfall of this is after a few cuts they will begin to get, what I think the most common term is, "woody". This refers to how the stems will start to get thicker after first cut where the greens will become tougher while the first cut will be tender greens. My green onions after about 3 regrows will start to grow to the size of leaks. "Woody" is really irrelevant if you are using your regrowth cuts for livestock fodder before restarting the tray but if you are using for microgreens "woody" will not produce good repeat customers.

Are their any other vegetables you plant that will regrow that I left out?

Sort:  

I LOVE regrowing green onions! They grow faster than I can use them. I replanted them once and now all I have to do is clip what I want and it regenerates as strong as the original. Even as hot and as humid (zone 8b) as our area is these guys are strong and DELICIOUS!

an idea to avoid being woody for celery is rather then take a cut, use the whole plants and just save the bottom and regrow the root and then plant the base, it will shoot up 4 or 5 stalks right away, and their starting from ground up new growth, that was the advice i was gave from a old timer, and how i regrew mine, currently on my first try right now, just made a post about it earlier

Thanks for the heads up.

Np. thats what im here for is to spread gardening knowledge and recycling knowledge, guess this falls into both categories :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71