Recycle with Benefits

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

KIMG2555.JPG

Most people will tell you they are to busy to recycle or don't have access to facilities to take their stuff to have it recycled. I'm not talking about your metal cans and old scrap metal since it is usually pretty easy to get someone to pick those things up and sell them to the scrap yards by listing it on Facebook or Craigslist. I am talking about your food scraps and organic waste that breaks down. Now on a homestead food scraps are pretty easy to use between hogs or chickens not much will go to waste.

If you don't have a homestead with livestock composting worms are a great option for these scraps or even just a regular compost pile or bin would work. This is also a great way to get rid of those things like boxes that your hogs and chickens really won't care to eat or the left over manure and old hay you need to dispose of off your homestead.
Another great option for all the food scraps, even meat and dead animal carcasses, that you don't want to feed your worm bins is BSFL. That is black solider fly larva. BSFL can consume massive amounts of waste in small amounts of time.

This is a picture of last weeks worm feed. Food scraps, rabbit manure, cut grass and coffee grounds. That is close to two large trash bags a week just to my worms.

KIMG2421.JPG

Now I know a lot of you are thinking well what about all the plastic and Styrofoam waste that can't be composted. Well here is something that has not made the rounds yet and a lot of people are still learning about. Mealworms can eat and process Styrofoam and some plastics. That is right mealworms can eat Styrofoam and not only eat it but produce a quality frass that studies have shown is safe for planting with.

By simply having a worm bin or BSFL bin and a mealworm farm you can dispose of most your waste that would go to landfills and it also gets rid of a lot of that icky nasty stinky stuff in your garbage making it easier to sort out your other metals and recyclable materials. Not only are you cutting back your amounts of waste produced but you are also producing a good quality products from the worms, mealworms and BSFL to the worm castings and frass that you can sell or use for personal use.

These are just a few ways of recycling with benefits beyond saving the planet.

Sort:  

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

interesting to try it at home..I mean, meals for worms in a worm bin. I usually collect all of those items in a plastic bag and then my neighbor will take it for her livestock. Thanks anyway!

I would have used to tossed it all to the chickens or hogs but I get better production out of the worms and selling the worms and worm castings produce more then the feed cost.

It sounds very good..I just imagine how can I try it if I am afraid of worms..hehehehe..success for you!

LOL yeah that would cause a little issue. They are not so bad. Usually most people just like using gloves. Not a bad idea anyways since your handling rotting food in the bins.

hahahaha..I'll try it..actually not that bad..cause sometimes I unintentionally touch the worms with my bare hand when I do gardening or planting some flowers, and then after I realized it, I'll scream by myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65631.30
ETH 2609.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70