Introduction from Liberty Worms

in #homestead6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemies. My name is Sean and I am the owner operator of Liberty Worms LLC. We are just getting up and operational for business as a small worm farm in the Panhandle of Florida. We do several different species of compost worms, mealworms and superworms . I will be writing about not only the reasons for me to do them but also how I do them successfully and the equipment I use from worm bins, tumbler composters to prepare the feed stock, paper shredders and different types of soil testers.

I live on a small 10 acres homestead with cows, goats, hogs, chickens and rabbits. We will be adding different types of live stock and crops based on my appetite and the time of the year. I will be adding these things into my articles along with my adventures setting up solar and wind power, different types of growing procedures from bucket growing with worm castings to DWC systems in hydroponics and the positive and negative of each based on time of year, temp and even pest problems. I will get into rotational grazing of padlocks with information on how we toss soaked corn and sunflower seeds into the empty padlocks to encourage growth of our own fodder crops for the next rotation of livestock and how we use worm tea to encourage healthy growth even though we have mostly sand as soil.

26907159_1992569827675698_3205168085937085036_n.jpg

I will also share some of my secrets on cutting cost like getting lots of food grade buckets for free from restaurants.

KIMG0478.JPG

How to build pens with free pallets that are strong enough to hold large hogs.

IMG_1173.JPG

I will talk about the types and breeds of livestock and what made me decide on them in particular and the different ways we handle them from breeding to butchering and everything in between.

This is Dozer he is a push over.

KIMG1457.JPG

I will also add in all about how to bring a income into your homestead by doing things like mealworms and composting worms to produce quality castings and frass for growing quality feed stock for your yourself and your livestock that will also produce a waste that can be circled back into your worms and mealworms. If done properly everything in your homestead will produce something that will feed the next and in turn they will produce something to feed the next creating a closed circuit lowing your cost all around and also producing income items from the waste products like young livestock, eggs, worms, worm castings and even tanned rabbit hides and rabbit feet key chains. The list is endless. You can produce a homestead that will make a little money a lot of different ways to where a farm will make a lot of income in a very few different ways and need much more investment to turn a profit.

I look forward to our homesteading adventures and remember all homesteads are different depending on location and desired outcome from the homesteader so please let me know about your homestead.

Sort:  

This is a great intro post! I am interested to learn more about many of the topics you mentioned :) Glad to have you joining in on steemit and willing to share some great knowledge and skills!

Glad you are willing to read my post. It is people like you that I enjoy writing them for. Hope you enjoy them all as much.

Hi Sean! Really interesting homestead you have!!! Will follow you with much interest! Upvoted and resteemed!!! :-)

I look forward to you looking forward to my post. Really gets me going wanting to write new ones. Hope you enjoy the next ones as much as these. Thank you for the resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56