Saving for a Homestead #2 Why I need to save $100,000.00

in #homestead7 years ago

If someone told me they needed $100,000.00 to save for a homestead I would assume that to be too much. But in reality it's actually not a lot at all. Houses alone these day cost over a million and I'm looking to buy everything I need with that $100,000.00.

100000-bill.jpg

Depending on where you look in Hawaii land can be fairly cheap, I myself am looking to purchase an agriculture lot the size of at least 3 acres. This will cost me around $22,000.00 Cheap right? Now when I move there my first purchase besides the land is a truck. I plan to use this to haul lumber/materials and sleep in until my house is built. The truck I will purchase will be used. I plan on buying one off craigslist so I wont have any monthly payments and my total budge for this is $4000.00. Since I have a construction background I plan to buy a house kit and build it myself. What's great about house kits is that the plans are premade and the company sends you all the part to build it. I would compare it to building Ikea furniture. This will only be for the frame of the house I would still need to build the foundation on my own and setup all the interior after it is built. This will run about $40,000.00

a443b32e82d0c5a3262388be8a41b192.jpg

The remaining $34,000.00 I plan to buy tools, agricultural materials like plants, livestock, gardening tools, etc.

That brings my total to $100,000.00. It's exciting to see plans unfold and dreams become a reality!!

If you like my posts and would like to join me in my journey please consider following and up voting!

Mahalo

images.jpg

Sort:  

Wow upvoted to give you some support. It would be amazing for an asian guy to know it would be that cheap to get such large area and has a house built with such little budget as in hong kong, a 500 sq feet apartment would cost 1m usd already. I wish you good luck and please post more!

Thanks for reading I appreciate all support!

Sounds like a great adventure!
Please share with us where you are building, on how much land, and what your expenses are to level a space, and what kind of community you will live in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48