Homestead chickens

in #homestead6 years ago

We keep Malaysian Serama chickens. They are small and easy to keep.
They don't scratch up your garden or make a massive mess so they're great for small holdings and town gardens etc.
I allow mine to wander freely during daylight hours; letting them out when I get up of a morning and shut them away after dark.
During the bulk of the year when the weather isn't too cold we get up to three eggs per day from four hens.
I feed them on whatever I can sweep up from local farms! Wheat,barley,maize,linseed and all manor of other seeds.
I also find that one feed a day is enough for free range chickens. After all we want them to seek out and eat bugs etc
image
image
image
image
image
image

Sort:  

Beautiful post

WOW!!! OVER THE MOON @jonesey ♥ ♥ ♥

Hi jonesey
Wow - Nice one - lovey looking birds - they must be delicious eggs!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks @icedrum! Yes the eggs are super tasty! Although rather small so I need at least 3 to make up for it!! :-)

Awesome. I always had chickens and I just got 4 young chickies to give me clean eggs. I try to give them clean food too so no antibiotics what you sometimes find in animal food bu they get veggies beans corn etc.

Wow! I've always wanted to rear my own chickens, I bet those eggs make for a delicious breakfast!

Wow what lucky chickens to have such a lifestyle. Looks like chicken heaven ☺️🌈💛🦋🌴

Haha! Thank you @sallybeth23 :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11