CONTEST: What I Would Do With $50 SBD?

in #homestead7 years ago

The first thing I would do is to set these two pickle barrels (which were free) into a rain collection system. I have wanted one for quite some time but I am unable to do alone. I want to have this system to water my vegetable garden as well as my herb garden. I am into conserving water (since we pay quite a hefty amount as we aren't rural enough to be out of the township's water/sewer system).

20170810_122350.jpg

Next up would be to convert this old patio stone area into a nice raised garden bed so I can expand my herb garden. We are limited on the space I have for growing so this would make a nice addition. If by chance I find another flower bed area in the front of the house that I can expand my herbs I would used the raised bed for my lettuce, arugula, spinach and other leafy greens and garlic; because nothing tastes better than a salad grown in your own backyard.
Next year I am hoping to add sesame, turmeric, comfrey, summer savory, skull cap, and marsh mallow.
The money would be used for the building supplies to accomplish this task.

20170810_122529.jpg

Finally, (if I still had money left) I would like to have a larger greenhouse for my starter seeds and herbs. Right now this one is usually overloaded from late April until June. If I had another one of the same size, or even bigger, the expansion of my harvest would be off to healthy and bigger start.

20170810_122445.jpg

Here is the original post

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.pngDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Hello,
I am em3's son. He is helping me get started in Steemit.
It looks like you will be busy with your projects. I hope you can win!

Hi @abookworm (who happens to be the son of one of my favorite steemians @em3)
Welcome to steemit- I'll watch for your posts

have barrels on roof or any platform to get them high up in the air and use PVC tubing to lead water to the plants also put sponge or some other material at holes in barrels to keep water flow at a certain rate.

Really good tips :) thanks!

thank you for the suggestion! Always seeking new ideas!

for the raised garden bed, use small logs to make base . then, line with old bedsheet and fill with dirt

I have some pallets to use if necessary and I know I want the beds to be about two feet off the ground. That way the plants or herbs will have enough space to let their roots grow.

Very nice projects I hope you win :)

thank you @raserrano Lots of great competition out there. I need to read more of the entries.
This is a great contest

Wow, three projects! Though I guess it should be possible. If you're resourceful you can probably get some great deals on materials, maybe even score most of them for free. That way you could probably accomplish all three, maybe even more.

Great post! Gets one dreaming, hmmm. I think my greatest need to is for water storage, the rainy season is almost over and I would love to set up a similar system. Hope your dreams come true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87