The Universe Just Gave Me A Gift!!! Rocket Mass Heater For Small Spaces Video!

in #homestead7 years ago

NOT my video, just the answer to my problem...!! (Need to heat a small greenhouse, current RMH is just too big!)

Sort:  

You are what I need on my homestead, a certified permaculture designer! But you would have to travel far and bring your surf board! lol

Well... how's the diving? lol!
Please feel free to quiz me if you have any questions I may help with. As noted above, I took the course to design OUR place, I am happy to offer free help to anyone I can. It is not the same as coming out and doing a personal design, but if you want to try to do your own design, I will do my best to walk you through it.

Thank you for the offer. I just may take you up on it in the future. Right now I'm up to my ears in finishing some construction. The rainy season put me behind and Nate put us even further behind.

They are great!! Are you familiar with permies.com? Lot's of rocket heater plans and enthusiasts.....

Do you have a good compost pile in your greenhouse? (of course I don't know how much space you have) - but they can create a bit of heat too

Oh, yes! I am a certified permaculture designer! I am working on a very specific greenhouse for fodder and microgreens, and I live in Idaho. I want better control of the heat than the composting offers.

cool. Who did you do your PDC with?

Vlad Davidzon, Regenerative Institute online. I am sure a live course would be wonderful, but I was never going to have the time off or the money to go that route. I also just wanted to design MY property, was not looking for a career. That online option can really help more people get the education to do it themselves!

For sure. I took an online and an in person course and both had benefits. did you end up paying for yours? I know that Vlad has quite a reputation in the permaculture world....

About 200 bucks. Worth every dime just for our place, not sure I feel truly qualified to go out and charge someone else a consultanting fee..
LOL! Does he have a good or bad reputation? I am not your "average" permie, and Vlad and I bumped heads a bit. I am more aligned politically with Joel Salatin...

he has a very bad reputation and sadly his certificate is not getting recognized in many Permaculture Institutions. for example, Oregon State University has an advanced degree and you need a PDC to get in. With his, They won't accept it.
He is known for fighting with people, being rude and threatening to sue them.
But he is not teaching, It's Korn or some name like that, right? As long as you got the info you needed - it's all good.
I love Joel Salatin as well - as you already know :)

Yes, Korn was the actual teacher. There was a Max instructor also, who was wonderful. Can't say I am surprised, he was kind of a turd, I thought. And no big deal to me, as I said. I was just trying to get a plan for our land, which I got.
Oh yeah - LOVED the interview by the way!

Nice! Love the ingenuity, I remember being introduced years ago at DP to the "rocket stove" (I think by you?) and from the name, I envisioned something completely different. :)

Yeah, we put it in the dome then had to take it out, it was going to cook us alive. So we put it where we are putting in the fodder system, and... yeah, probably going to have to take it out. Or, build a bigger structure around it. The temporary hoophouse got crushed in last winter's snows, so that is an option. Even so, we want a smaller greenhouse for the microgreens and this design is perfect for what we had envisioned.

Keep those grasshoppers out! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76