I Am Now Officially A Pod Person...

in #homestead6 years ago

The one-woman powerhouse @mariannewest has been gently prodding me for months to get my act together and do some podcasts with her. This was kind of a big deal for me and I admit most of it was a mental block. I am not "in love" with technology. Learning a new gadget is not fun for me, it is a pain in my butt. That is my attitude anyway, the reality was not so bad. I had to learn a new bit of software and I still have a lot of learning to do on the program, but the basic functions were pretty easy to grasp. The mic itself required a bit of figuring out but not really much. I would get going on trying to learn and ten minutes later get interrupted, so it FELT like it was hard to me because it was taking so long to learn! So yes, after months of trying to make myself make time to just sit down and figure it out... I felt a little like an idiot when I finally DID realize how easy it was. Turns out the hard part is making me sit still for an hour or two... lol!

Here at last is my first podcast! My homesteading journey has reached a hard fork and that is where my story begins. I hope to offer some insight for folks who are just getting into homesteading, help them look down the road a bit. Maybe folks can avoid making the same mistakes we did. Be creative, come up with fresh and original mistakes to make! I also hope to start a conversation about how homesteading is evolving and maybe find other aging homesteaders with ideas to share. The notion of living sustainably often centers on how we are interacting with the earth. There is another aspect though, that is what I am trying to highlight: If we cannot sustain our lifestyle due to advancing age and declining health, what will happen to us? What changes can we make before we are forced to sell the farm and move into the retirement home?

I would love some feedback on this! Please feel free to tell me what you think of the content and also the technical aspects: How is the pace of my presentation? Can you understand what I am saying or do I speak too fast, mumble too much, etc? Thank you in advance for any input offered!

The podcast is at the top of this page, it is audio only. There is another pod person before me, Pia is discussing sustainable travel ideas. She has some great ideas, well worth listening to her too!
http://sustainablelivingpodcast.com/two-new-voices/

I have reached an age where this is not really fun any more.

20170201_100542.jpg

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

Sort:  

Loved the podcast, @fishyculture! I hear you. I am getting on in years and just don't have the energy to do the things that I used to do. It's coming to the point where I may have to hire people to do the heavy stuff. I guess I need to do things smarter...

That is what we are thinking. We love wood heat, but we are really tired of split, stack, haul, splinters all winter, etc. And I really do not think it is reasonable to believe we can hire someone to do all those things as we age. We are getting a pellet stove. We can get the pellets delivered on pallets and put right in the shed, no cut, split, stack... I think I ought to be able to lift a coffee can of pellets well into my dotage lol!

Really well done, very interesting. Being a city-dweller, the whole homesteading thing, growing your own and being close to nature seems pretty idyllic. I hadn't really factored in voles, grasshoppers or early morning strawberry look out duties.
I think I better think it out again!

Thanks for listening! And while I do not mean to be discouraging, there was a lot of wishing and hoping that went into the early part of this journey. The reality was even sort of fun and challenging but we are in our mid-fifties, and were STUNNED to discover that we keep getting older. The work is not getting easier. Even is our bodies hold up, we do not want to live a life that every day is "bust your butt or something dies..." when we are 80!

I hear ya. We're getting into our 50s now too and the noise and bustle of city life is becoming ever less tolerable. My partner in all crime's dreams is to 'live off the fatta the lan' an' have rabbits' but the reality of it is definitely something else entirely when the only growing you've ever done is some herbs on the balcony.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

So glad that you are part of the podcast crew!! exciting!!!

Thank you! I am pretty excited too! I never asked you - how often do you want me to put one together?

Totally up to you. I am striving for publishing once a week again and it will be a mix of interviews, solo shows, contributor segments and so forth. Pia is going to do one once a month - feel free to do the same or go for more often - or less if that what life requires...

OK, I won't stress about it and just put another when together when time and inspiration come together!

Good plan!!! 😀

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83