Homestead Photography Contest Week 1

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

This is from about two years ago when Bessie, our Momma cow, calved for the second time. This little one pictured is due to calf in about 2 months now.

I raised Bessie from a week old bottle calf. I was totally in over my head, but I just kept telling myself "It is just a big dog..." and somehow we both survived! The FIRST calf was a little scary for both of us, she did not know how to nurse, the calf did not know how to nurse, and I... was pretending they were dogs... but we got it all together with a little help from a neighbor! This second one was very cool. Bessie needed no help at all, so we took a picture instead! :)

Tricksy.jpg

Sort:  

How sweet! Good luck in the contest!

P.S. I really did follow you. lol

LOL! 100% of what is left of my watered down vote for that. And following you, too.

such a cutie pie - bottle feeding calves is quite an intense experience!

Indeed! It was intensely bonding, she really does come when called like a big dog. Unless there is a bull around and she is "in the mood..." LOL!

Several years ago, we got started in cattle the same way. We bought a few bottle babies and raised them up by hand feeding them. It was a lot of hard work, but one of those cows was probably up near the top of my favorites. She was extremely friendly and good natured. These are precious moments. Great Job!

Thank you. These three are supposed to be our momma cows, their calves will be sold. Hoping for healthy babies all around!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fishyculture to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice pic!
Followed you.

Thanks... but you did not follow me. Do you not understand how annoying it is to be like that? You did not even upvote my "nice pic!" and then you lied to me. I am not following you... you did not impress me with that "introduction."

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36