EggMeister's 2018 Veggie Progress - Mid July - Mini Update

in #homestead6 years ago

Hello All,

Just a very brief update on the veggies.

20180712_103304.jpg

One of the potato plants that I've grown from seeds sourced from last years seed pods has now got flowers on it. Fingers-crossed they will provide me with some seed pods this year so I can harvest the hundreds of tiny seeds. The 'extra' potatoes that I've grown in a tub from forgotten sprouting tubers had 5 clusters of flowers on at the end of last month but all the flowers died off and fell off the stalks with no hint of producing any pods :(


Also folks, it looks to my untrained eye that the Butternut Squashes will be bearing fruits soon. Do they actual 'flower' at all because it seems that the fruits are developing before the flowers open? [admittedly; I'm in full-on noob mode here]

20180712_124913.jpg


The runner beans have been flowering like mad but just like the 'tub' potatoes, many flowers are just dying and dropping off leaving 'empty' stalks?!?!? Could it be the hot weather?

Any hoo, they'll be more from me as and when it happens :) You can see my last update here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@eggmeister/eggmeister-s-2018-veggie-progress-self-sufficiency-drive-mid-june-video-update

Bye 4 now,
EggMeister :)

footer2.png

Sort:  

Looking good, I've already mentioned but I'm having the same issue with certain plants dropping flowers to, had 5+ cucumbers coming in but they all but shrivelled up and died.

With the squash you'll find it will flower looks funny when you have a little squash forming with a flower on the end, normally get male and female flowers you'll need both to get the fruit to set and continue to grow. hope that makes sense.

Keep up the great work!

Hi Dan, thanks for the advice :)
My mum's neighbour told me that himself and all his fellow gardeners are experiencing the same problems to. Heat? increased UV? Both? (Earth's magnetic shield is weakening and allowing in more UV as well as GCR).

Cheers again,
Robster.

great pictures

Thank you :)

images.duckduckgo.com.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98