ISAPA [Roselle (green variety)] my Christmas dream soup 😊

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

image

In preparation for the Christmas festivity merry, I have been keeping a deeper watch on the Roselle plant at my backyard 😃, it is almost at its flowering stage and should be good enough for harvesting by Christmas- new year period and this will make me get it fresh as planned... If you might be wondering what I meant and how this could be taken, here are some of the informations you might need


Botanical name: Hibiscus subdariffa
It is annual/perennial crop
Other names are Isapa (Yoruba) western Nigeria


image

Roselle plant in Nigeria are known to be of two varieties;

  • Red [used in producing Zobo (Roselle juice)]
    image
    Link

  • Green for preparing soup, stew and sauce.
    image
    Link


The green variety(capsule) which I planted is very rich vitamin C and Riboflavin with other minerals present.
The green variety is being prepared by;
Firstly,the capsules are been harvested and separated from the seeds, the harvested flesh are then steeped in water and wood ash and or parboiled with wood ash (if dried ones), then it is thoroughly washed before used for preparation of soup.


You should watch out for my next post on the preparation of;

Every unreferenced picture was taken with my Samsung Note 3 camera ....

Thank you for stopping by 😃
I am still that last born from euronation 😇

Sort:  

Hi @dray91eu

I will come and visit you oh during the xmas period for my isapa soup,beautiful post bro.

Can't wait to have you around sir .... Just keep in touch so you won't my next post on how to make the soup

Hi @dray91eu
Wow, many specially delicacies are available in all the regions and segments of our dear land Nigeria. Am waiting to read about how it is prepared. Thanks
@dubem-eu

Thanks for coming around on my blog sir ... The post will drop soon ... Good to see you sir

Hello @dray91eu

This ISAPA stuff don dey do me make i wallo am o bro.
Nice one

Hmm ... I understand the feeling bro... Especially a combination of this with pounded yam ... You can escape having that suddent rest of mind at that moment.... Nice having you around sir

You just made me remember my late grandma. She used to make isapa soup for me any time I went visiting.

Hmm... Indeed ma grandma does same thing too as soon as we arrive ... She gets to kitchen to prepare this special delicacy .... Thanks for stopping by bro

I have been hearing about the soup but never seen where it is been prepared or eaten...will wait patiently for your next post on the preparation procedures.

Thanks for sharing because I have learnt something new today...

@bekky

Hmm ...if you have never tasted this but have tasted pounded yam then you re really missing something because this a very cool combo ... Keep in touch I will get a video as well with it in my next post having one video my tp students had then ... Really great having you here

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60