Dehydrating mini movie.

in #homestead7 years ago

I'm into preserving and one way is dehydrating plants growing in my garden. Here's a few that I dried over the weekend.
Beet leaves, Rhubarb, Chives, Spring onions, Calendula flowers and Parsley. As I happily pottered around my garden, I couldn't help notice how things had grown over the past 2 weeks. We are into the 1st month of spring here in Australia and it's such a busy time in the garden.

20170520_210119.jpg

I thought a short mini movie could show off my dried foods nicely. All I needed to do was wash, chop and dry, easy as 1, 2, 3.
Here are a few pics to show how easy dehydrating can be.
2017-09-17-14-49-02.jpg
CALENDULAR PETALS TO MAKE TEA WITH.
2017-09-17-14-49-30.jpg
CHIVES FOR USE IN SALADS AND SAUCES.
2017-09-17-17-03-42.jpg
BEET LEAVES AND STALKS TO BLITZ INTO A POWDER, SPRINKLE OVER ANYTHING SAVOURY.
2017-09-17-17-00-48.jpg
HERE'S A TIP, USE BAKING PAPER UNDER YOUR VEGGIES TO STOP THEM FALLING THROUGH THE GAPS AND I PLACED A CUTTING BOARD OVER THE TOP TO MAKE IT EASIER TO SLIDE THE OVER PACKED SHELVES BACK INTO THE DEHYDRATOR.
2017-09-17-15-02-04.jpg
SPRING ONIONS ARE PERFECT FOR THE SUMMER RECIPES I'LL BE COOKING.

Sort:  

I love to dehydrate food and medicinals. I just did a ton of cauliflower. It's such an odd vegetable to dehydrate. When dried it turns brown but once you rehydrate it, it turns back to white. I thought I ruined my first batch, haha.

You can never and I mean never have enough green onions on hand. I use kale in place of your beet leaves. I make a powder and add to all kinds of things. So much yummy nutrition in both of them.

You are just awesome ..had no idea regarding the cauliflower. I also dehydrate but I had to lay off as we have too much on hand of saved items. With my co-op we seem to be eating everything raw and fresh more and more!
Blessings,
Melissa

Cauliflower is a strange one, I've dried so many things over the years but will not do peas again as they take forever to soften. I love how intense capsicum\bell pepper and tomatoes taste when eating them in my recipes.

Nice pics! I use my dehydrator a lot, especially for herbs, then at summers end when I'm tired of canning and the freezer is full. I made a dried calendula and coconut oil infusion that is great for itchy bites.

I must try that and a few others that I've heard about.

I love my dehydrator ...and have had it for several years now. This was a fantastic post! love the video and all of the pictures! Spring ehh...my favorite here in Florida is fall, as I know we have 8 months of relatively great weather ahead...Like the merrylotus mentioned so many wonderful seasonings you are packing away..never enough green onions ..i so agree!
Keep up with these amazing pictures and posts.
Happy Day!
Melissa

Thank you, I just love how easy it is to dehydrate foods and have an awful lot in my pantry.

Congratulations @christa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49