Fish breeding

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians. I would like to tell you about my husband's hobby. He's been doing this since he was in grade school where in his fish containers were just cut gallons of water.

received_1989230291293589.jpeg

This is him while he was feeding them the other day. He feeds them every morning, noon and night sometimes even with snacks, and I'm not kidding.

Though this time his set up is this:

FB_IMG_1519092845835.jpg

There are also aquariums at the top I didn't get to take a photo. This is really his passion and its so evident. If you know him personally you can just ask fish from him. But these days, these past few months have been different. He's been joining competitions and winning them. He even champed a certain category thrice I think? What fish am I talking about? I'm talking about these:

FB_IMG_1519092781272.jpgFB_IMG_1519092620514.jpgFB_IMG_1519092610884.jpgFB_IMG_1519092564082.jpg

Sorry for the low quality photos, fish photography is very hard. But we did get some good ones.

Those fishies are called Guppy/Guppies. They are of different strains.

Next post I'm gonna share his trophies and discuss the strains and maybe of the categories if possible.

That's all for now steemians 😘

Sort:  

Great start! The pictures are captured just fine. I would love to see more details though. How does he setup the pond? How many species and which types to include? What other flora and fauna is co-exisring? How he breeds the fish? Is it necessary to have companion breeding?

All in all, the passion is extraordinary. I am also enticed when I look at the variety displayed.

Thanks! Will make another one about the breeding process and etc. He doesn't have ponds anymore like he used to though will post another one later. 😁

wow, they are so well taken care of. They even get served snacks. :D
Are these beta fishes? I had a similar picture in my blog before.

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@robiney/color-challenge-monday-red

Yes, they get reeeeaally taken care of. Enough for me to get jealous of them. 😃 They are called Guppy, they have so many names per strain. They are much smaller than beta fishes. Around a half smaller.

Cool hobby! When I was a kid, I used to buy a fish outside our school.

He started out that way too, but he didn't grow out of it. Just buying fish outside the school grew and became his passion.

Which is quite awesome 😲

Wow beautiful fish.

Thank you. He really put so much effort on them, preserving and concentrating genes and everything.

Finally, you made it here. Great photos by the way. I am looking forward of seeing more of your articles. Thanks for sharing @bubblegum1192. Followed you dear.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28