Progress on our barn property! 1st update.

in #homestead7 years ago

Hi everyone! First update on our barn property progression. It was a exciting day we had some heavy equipment out to clear land up to the grass pasture and are clearing some brush getting ready for our power hookup to the barn. We got a bunch of trees cut down that were growing up around the foundation and pulled most of the vines down that were growing into the barn, this all had to be done by hand because the equipment is too big to get in that close to the barn. I was also a little afraid we would pull the barn boards off if we tried ripping at the vines with the dozer. We got quite a bit of land moved today and hopefully a bunch more later this week.


20170720_111522.jpg
No more vines or shumac anymore!

20170720_111516.jpg
Cleared up the hill and leveled off around the back of the barn.

20170720_113053.jpg
View from above at the edge of the grass pasture

20170721_134951.jpg
I'm going to let these vines dry out for a few days in hopes they will be easier to rip down.

Pretty good progress so far I think, but the big equipment makes it a breeze. I'm going to try and get my cousin to bring his skidloader this week so I can dress up the rough spots left by the dozer. It was a great day at the future homestead got lots done and it makes us want to be working on the barn even more. Thanks for stopping and checking in on us!

Sort:  

Looking good bro but as i mention in your intro post its going to be a lot of work... try as well to be as much as you can Eco-friendly! Have a great day and i am looking forward to see your next blogs with the progress on the barn.

Yeah man I know its daunting sometimes all the work and organization that's going to go into it. My wife reminds me of the eco-friendly stuff and tries to keep me in check, I'm more of a burn and pillage type of guy myself so she has to rein me in sometimes.

Wow what a difference that made! Awesome progress! Do you know any history of the barn? When it was built or anything? Also, how much land are you all working with? Thanks!

I don't know much of the history on it. Someone told me by the look of the beams its 150 years plus. I know back in the 90's the back wall of the foundation was redone with modern block. We have about 3 acres that borders state gamelands and a 20 acre grass pasture. We are in talks with the owner to be able to use the grass pasture seeing how he hasn't really used it for years, fingers crossed.

I see you have a lot of job in front of you, good luck.

Congratulations @banewrath! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33