A Chicken Update

A few days ago I decided to attempt to open the hatch and let our little feathered friends have access to the run below the chicken coop.  One by one I began to hand them to my daughter to place in the run, but as I handed her the fourth chicken I noticed something was wrong.  I looked in the run and only two were there.  Looking around I found the missing chicken pecking around in the grass....it had escaped!  The picture below is a little grainy as it was taken just before dark on the iPhone, but the little buggers are growing up fast!

When I designed the run it originally had chicken wire walls which proved to be a deadly mistake.  The mesh doesn't hold up well to a raccoon attack.  As a result we lost our whole flock of chickens.  After that experience I replaced the chicken wire with 2x4 welded wire fencing which can be seen in the background. This will hold up much better.  However, our adolescent birds are still small enough to squeeze through the openings and escape.  Guess they will have to wait a few more weeks before tasting freedom from the coop.

If you enjoyed this post please remember to comment, upvote, resteem and follow @backrdadventures.

"Back Roads Adventures"

- Any day in the outdoors is a good day!

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear about the raccoon attack, its hard loosing livestock. These chickens are getting big and look great. I hope this chicken experience is a wonderful one. Your coop sounds nice and sturdy.

Thanks for the well wishes and thank you for checking out my post!

Congratulations @backrdadventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84