My first Steem post, I hope I get it right!

P1040664.jpg

Hello!
My name is Nichole, and I am a stay-at-home mother of 3.
We have a couple of acres and like to raise animals and plants for a healthy, sustainable food source.
I particularly love our Nigerian Dwarf goats, which are a miniature dairy goat. We raise these as a source of fresh, raw milk, and let me tell you, it is pretty much the BEST milk ever!
P1030508.jpg

Not to mention, they are super fun, colorful, and intelligent animals. My kids love playing with the 'kids'!

DSC07971.jpg

We also raise chickens for meat and eggs.

DSC06699.jpg

We have an assorment of chickens, mostly dual purpose crosses.

DSC06967.jpg

Some other projects we are either doing, or have done in the past include aquaponics, American Guinea hogs, gardening, beekeeping, and some others. Perhaps Ill write some posts about them in the future.

DSC07026.jpg

We are also a homeschooling family!
The kids love learning in our home and we all love the flexibility that home educating offers us.

I think this will do for a starter post, and hopefully I can write up some more interesting things soon!
I need to continue familiarizing myself with this website and learn the ins and outs of it all.

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed!

P1040589.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit. Steemit is a great community. Keep steeming :)

Thanks! I will!

Lovely Goats and photos, Even the healthy snake at the end!

Greetings and welcome to Steemit:
I have a few tips for you......:

  • find a community. Maybe join the @minnowsupport project and the homesteaders online withing the Discord app.

  • comment and follow other's articles for your first 1-4 months here more than you do your own posts. This will actually help you to gain Followers. And improve and refine your Posting style(by seeing other's good examples and bad examples).

  • don't plan to get rich. If you come for money, it will probably be a struggle.

  • it will still be a struggle when you are new.... for 2 or 3 months. As you meet more steemians and ask questions and figure things out, it will get easier.

  • only Post original work. Many new Steemians get into trouble when they copy and paste things from Google or from the internet, AND IT IS NOT their photo, writing or work. IF you can't post your own things, better not post. Otherwise @cheetah will get suspicious!

  • comment and make friends, but don't ask "Follow me" or "please Upvote me" Maybe after you have become friends... maybe. But never as your first, second or third comment to them. Never!

  • have fun!

I am a community volunteer. I try to stop SPAM and trash and things that hurt Steemit. IF you see anything like that, please feel free to let me know, I will look into it!

Thank you! We love all our pets and livestock and take the best care of them that we are able to. :)
Thank you for your reply! This information is very helpful to me and I will take it to heart!

Welcome to steemit! Very nice writeup. We also homeschool our children and do the whole bees, goats, chickens thing!

Very cool!
Thank you very much! Still learning how this all works, but am looking forward to reading and writing more!

Welcome to Steemit!!!

We had milk goats for only 1 year, 2 years ago. You don't know how depressingly jealous I am that yall are still living the dream. We hope to get back to it in 1 or 2 years....but only time will tell!

If you need any help or anything dont hessitate to ask!!!

Thank you very much!
Haha, I LOVE my goaties and cant imagine having to do with them or the fantastic fresh milk!
Best of luck, and I hope you can get back to it eventually! :D

Welcome to Steemit! Looks like we have a lot in common.

Thanks! Im having fun looking around and learning how all this works!
Looks like we DO have a lot in common! How do you like oberhasli goat milk? Ive only ever tried Nigerian, and it is sweet and creamy. Ive heard milk from other breeds might not be as tasty, but Ive never tried it. :)

We just started raising goats in July. We got the Oberhasli in October. None of them currently produce milk but the previous owners of the Oberhasli said their milk is wonderful. They said it had some of the best cream.

Neat! I LOVE the milk from our Nigerians, but I have always been curious how much easier it might be to have full size goats with full size teats that produce more per goat...

got it right. Nice pics.

Haha, thanks!

Congratulations @squishysquid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
Award for the number of comments
You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm still trying to find out if we can get Nigerian dwarfs in Australia. I hear their milk is less goaty tasting than most goat's milk.

I hope you can find some!
They are pretty fantastic goats, in my opinion. Easier to contain that large goats, and yes, the milk is wonderful! Although, to be honest, I have not had fresh milk from any other breed. But compared to grocery store milk, or raw cow's milk, it tastes slightly sweeter and richer. When people come to my house and try the milk, they are shocked to find the milk does not taste weird or 'goaty' at all, but like extra good milk. :D
Good luck getting some!!

Thank you. I have to admit I'm not looking too hard at the moment, because we aren't really ready for any.

Haha oh well...
Still, doesnt hurt to find your local breeders so you can find babies when you are ready.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35