You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stigma Against Homeschoolers Continues to Dissolve

in #homeschooling7 years ago

So much yes to this post!

I actually stopped going to highschool and took the initiative to homeschool myself the last few years of highschool through an online homeschooling program. I did assignments and textbook stuff for a couple courses, had weekly class meetings online, and for the last year I was in an innovations course where I actually got to design my own course, projects, due dates and source my own material.

This experience was incredibly valuable to me, I have so much more confidence in my ability to learn anything, and was able to learn from life and my experiences well completing highschool. When I was actually in public school I was quite insecure and unconfident, and by the end of my homeschooling I am very confident and secure!

I will also homeschool my kids when that time comes! I totally support homeschooling of all ages, even for adults and for secondary education. I want to support learning and teaching everywhere, which is something that makes Steemit so attractive!

Thank you for this post <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32