You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Home-school Curriculum: How to Design Your Own!

in #homeschooling7 years ago

We have been homeschooling for five years now and it has been fantastic! We appreciate that we have the flexibility to learn at our own pace and spend time pursuing our passions, which is currently our Saturn project. How did you come about homeschooling? Did your kids asked to be homeschooled?

Sort:  

I am definitely loving the flexibility as well. Both of my kids struggle in a typical sit-down, shut-up public school setting. My son especially, as he has high-functioning autism and being stuck in a noisy, confusing classroom of 35+ kids was putting him on edge daily. Public school was consistently failing my children. When we moved out of state, I figured we could give it a try before I found full-time work (I had a corporate job prior). It's not been very smooth, and I'm not saying I haven't had my doubts, but so far, so good!

We felt the same way when we were in public school. Our friends were nice, but that style of learning just isn't our thing. Ironically, my brother also dealt with high functioning autism in school and he felt similarly to your son. Our parents had him go to the school because, at the time, it was the only school in the district where they had special needs classes (OT, Speech) and times where the autistic kids could leave the room for some quiet. Inevitably, it was still not the best environment for my brother and we both transitioned out of public school easily. We appreciate that our parents gave this opportunity and we are certainly happier for it. We can't even imagine going back to a public school after being homeschooled for so long. Keep up the good work with your kids because even if it doesn't feel like it at times, I'd bet the impact for them is very positive. :-)

I'm so glad that homeschooling works great for you guys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66