You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Setting up a new fish tank: My son's latest obsession. :D (Meet CandyCane, Squishington, Todd, and the Shadow Clan!)

in #homeschooling6 years ago

The squidlet's tank looks awesome :D Glad it's been going well so far! My youngest has been kind of vaguely interested in axlotls but the ones I've had experience with are escape artists x_x and also I haven't had much luck with anything past goldfish so I'm a bit wary at the moment, said anything in a tank should wait til we've moved (whenever that ends up happening!).

The ghost shrimp won't eat the betta? Last time my parents had a fish tank they put some kind of shrimpy thing in there to clean up and it ate the fish x_x

I love how much can be covered from simply following an interest. I'm currently failing at convincing my son's psych that he does learn how to deal with things he's not interested in when it's on the path to things he is interested in, the psych is a bit oldschool as far as education goes and is quite insistent that I need to force him to do things you couldn't pay him to care about XD

Sort:  

Thank you very much!
Nope, the shrimp are much too small to harm anything, they just clean up leftovers. Your parents probably had some kind of crayfish/freshwater lobster, which look quite similar to shrimp, but get larger and definitely will catch and eat fish.
That's funny you should mention the axolotl! My daughter has been interested in getting one, (but I dont know if she actually will). Good to know they are escapey, Ill have to let her know if she does get one, to make sure the lid is super secure!!

Sorry your son's phych doesnt understand that! How frustrating! Yes, it is SO much better to let them learn at their own pace, and through doing things THEY are interested in. Ive found when you try and force them to learn a topic, it actually does more harm than good, and both the child and teacher are frustrated by this. People say, well what about college? What if he needs to learn (topic hes not interested in) in order to get a degree in (whatever). Well, when he is that age, he will be more mature, and he will decide for himself to learn (topic hes not interested in) because he sees the point and decides for himself. The things you force them to learn just get forgotten as soon as you drop the subject anyway because the child just could not care less.

He's a really good psych other than that, we just present problems for him XD (or opportunities to come up with new ideas depending on how you want to look at things I guess? :D)

Yeh that's pretty much my thoughts as well but seems people simpy fixate on "if you don't force them to do things they don't want to do they will be spoilt and entitled thinking they should never have to do anything that they don't want to do and will refuse" and I'm not sure how that's a bad thing in some cases? I guess I'm just ignorant and naive ;D

I dont know, but I have tried both ways, and not forcing things just works better all around. My oldest is 15 now, and he is as smart as a whip, so speaking long term, it works. I think it's important to teach children how to think, not what to think. I always tell the kids, if they have a problem with what I am asking them to do, then respectfully ask me to explain it to them. We can talk about it, and I also LISTEN to their concerns. Sometimes they have a valid point, and Ill rethink what Im asking of them, and sometimes they see that I have a valid point, and they go ahead and do the thing. I think it basically boils down to just treating them like fellow people, not underlings. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46