Our homeschooling/Unschooling Highlights: My 6yo starts writing music 🎶

in #homeschooling6 years ago

We are a homeschooling, basically unschooling family. We don't follow a curriculum for our 6 yo, because we'd rather follow her lead at this point, but we will happily explore her interests with her instead.


My 6yo, Amadeia started piano lessons a few months ago, she's always showed a lot of interest with piano, and she seemed to catch on quick. I never force her to practise her piano, but will sometimes suggest it, and she's usually keen to oblige if/when I do.

Most of the time though, I don't even need to suggest it, she just turns her keyboard on and starts practising pieces from her book. Well lately, she took it one step further, and I'm so proud of it, I just had to share.


Last week, out of the blue, after practising her piano book for a bit, she started just free playing and exploring the keyboard, and then I saw her go get some paper, and start writing down notes and keys. I eventually realized she was actually writing music, so I grabbed the camera and asked her if I could start filming.

I was truly amazed.. music means a lot to us, so this really made me so happy and proud, can't believe she just started writing music of her own accord. I hope she keeps at this, because I can't wait to see what she could come up with. Especially because her name coincidentally is the female variant of the name Amadeus (Mozart's middle name).


Here's a video of her playing a snippet of her piece :)

Loving our homeschooling/unschooling journey so much!


Thank you for taking the time to read/watch, and sharing my joy in this beautiful unschooling moment of ours. I hope to share more of these joyous moments with you soon.

I'd also love to hear about your homeschooling/unschooling experiences/highlights too, so please do share :)

Much Love from RedRica

Sort:  

Wow. This is all kinds of amazing! She's so delightful and talented. Well done guys, you're doing a great job!

I didn't realise "Amadeus" was his middle name. I just thought it was a (very sad) piece he composed.
Well, the name means something to you now I guess. Nice one.

hehe thanks Ade, she is awesome indeed :)

The funny thing is I actually totally just made up her name, fell in love with it and then realized afterwards that it could actually be the female variant of Amadeus. So it wasn't like I was trying to set her up as the next Mozart or anything like that.. But I'm not going to resist it either ;)

That is fantastic @redrica - an excellent example of how well homeschooling/unschooling can work.

Do you live next to a river or was that a flood outside?

Thanks @pennsif, indeed it is :)

And hahaha yes, we live next to River Thames (which thankfully hasn't flooded since we've lived here)

A prodigy in the making

Learning music is a great addition to a rounded education!


Classical_Music_smaller.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto
Community Logo by ivan.atman
Radio logo by plushzilla

The writers like you need the steemit community. By doing so you can succeed in providing us very good information. I am proud that I am part of this society. I read every article you need. And indeed I responded very much to you and your articles.

I know you can climb the highest mountains. Never lose faith in yourself. Good luck!

All the best for a bright future! May there be success at every turn of life and all your dreams come true!

How lovely! Love that you are home schooling.

My friend @monkeybots would like your page.

Theres a SteemitUK discord server too, feel free to drop in.

Steemit UK Discord Server

Invite Address
https://discord.gg/jNmgBW4

Joined :) Also, just so you know, there's another Discord server called Eurosteem, that's pretty active with people from the UK.

https://discord.gg/Ktn4FXp

Awesome thank you!

And this is why I love homeschooling! :D Amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65