You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Lost' Skills: Teaching the next generation important life skills that many have forgotten...

in #homeschooling7 years ago

I feel like it should go without saying, but living with thier means is something I've stressed to my kids.
I also think it's important for kids to understand the "use it up, wear ot out, make do, or do without" way of thinking. Taking care of what they have, repairing what they can, and repurposing what they can't.

Another thing that's probably obvious is knowing how to find answers they're looking for in books, without the internet.

Sort:  

THIS
That is SO true!
I teach my kids this as well. They earn money and we have a no impulse buying rule.
They can buy whatever they want, BUT they have to think about it for at least a day first, (more than a day for huge purchases.)
Sometimes they complain, but they are learning to think about how they spend their money and I've had quite a few occasions where they thank me for now allowing them to buy it that moment, because they would be out of cash and turns out they didnt really want it anyway...
We are big fans of fixing things around here also! Not something I consciously taught, but I guess we lead by example. If my kids things break, the first thing they do is try to fix it or ask us to fix it. Not automatically asking for a new one. Which is a good thing... Haha, I never really thought about it.
Looking up things in books is another good one. I have to admit, I am too reliant on the internet. As a kid, I would have to run to the library and hope they had a book on the topic I wanted to know about... Now I can just punch it into the computer and find the info instantly. Perhaps I shall start working on this, having them research things in books! An important skill indeed, and thanks for your comment!

I've tried to lead by example, and I think I've done a fair job. But t.v., neighborhood kids, family's children and others also have some influence, and sometimes some value reinforcement of the verbal sort is a necessary. Sometimes, in the short term they thought I was unfair or uncool or just didn't understand but I think as they're getting older they're grateful for those lessons, values and skills.

That's very true... the world has a huge influence on the kids and sometimes they need a little more instruction or incentive to do things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60328.18
ETH 2426.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48