You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cracks in the System

in #homeschooling5 years ago

You have to wonder if its an accident. I remember I loved learning as a kid. Thirteen years of boredom later, and I had no appetite to do anything but exist; for ten years.
Now I learn because I love it again; but school didn't help; school took my enthusiasm and crushed it (and I went to a really good school.)
The whole concept is broken and needs to be opened up to the marketplace.

Sort:  

I suddenly realise how lucky I was that the school I went to manage to foster that love of learning. I never appreciated Waldorf education at the time, because I never really knew any different, but experiencing the public school system has changed that. Then recently I read an article that a Rudolf Steiner school in New Zealand is thinking of getting rid of his name from the name of their school because he may have once expressed racist views, over 100 years ago! There is nothing in his writings of that nature, almost the opposite. He expressed that race would cease to matter over time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Some alternative schools are opening up, I think it's a good sign of things coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61