You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with Opposition as Home Educators - @HomeEdders Challenge

in #homeschooling5 years ago

I'm surprised you met so much opposition when you had studied to teach. I know a lot of people get asked if they are teachers when they say they homeschool and you pretty much are! 😆

Sort:  

Lol I know right! Well one thing is I didn’t go all the way. I was a little shy of receiving my teaching degree when I decided to stop (I’ll explain more in my next post). The other thing was they didn’t doubt I could teach them, they were just so programmed to think the only option for me to teach was in a school “building” and for our kids to actually have the experience to ride the bus, have multiple teachers, make school friends etc. They thought we were depriving them of the experiences they needed. They were never introduced to this way of learning/teaching, it was foreign to them.

Thankfully they finally see the benefits of home education and have witnessed how enriching it has been for our whole family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44