You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Will Your Children Get To Socialize?

in #homeschooling5 years ago

That sounds really good. When we were looking for a kindergarten for our son, we first heard about the "age-mixed concept". I never thought about mixed groups before. But it makes sense, because people have always grown up in social groups that spanned all ages, including adults. How old are your girls?

I am the youngest of six children and grew up in a small town surrounded by relatives. I had many friends in my school days with whom I had very intense good and bad times. I remember the competition in the classroom very well and didn't know at the time that the school system shaped competition and neglected cooperation. Today it's different with my son, who is in the 8th grade. The children are much less competition-oriented, at least in the environment in which my son moves, but it is of course still something different than home schooling.

State schooling is only a logical consequence of the externally supplied societies in which we live. Exceptions rather confirm the rule, because it is always minorities who choose a different form of lifestyle. The majority ensures that we get everything we need to live, often more than that. Self-sufficiency reveals a value chain much more quickly than external supply. The effort spent on food, roof over one's head, transport, etc., can be learned and understood more quickly by children in small, self-sufficient communities. In modern societies, children must gradually realize this abstract intellectual achievement and this often leads to them not really understanding what world they are in.

Your community seems to move exactly between these two worlds and to draw the best from each. This is a feat and at the same time a privilege that you have certainly worked for. Nevertheless, you benefit from the external supply, because such existential things as salt, sugar, flour or other staple foods have to be bought, just like clothes, building materials etc. What percentage, would you say, are you self-supplied and how much externally supplied?

I think the most difficult task in modern people's lives is to learn to accept the habit of their own existence, while advertising and the media keep telling you something else: that you can bring it to greatness, glory and wealth. It is this contradiction that causes many people misfortune, because they are inevitably irritated by the fact that they themselves lead an average life, while it looks as if everyone else is not doing so.

I am in the middle of this modern city rather an exception and lead a simple life with very little money, but an inner wealth. I benefit from those who provide me with everything: mobility, electricity, heat, food, clothing, garbage collection, sewerage, etc.

It's a world where it's difficult to express thanks, because you don't meet the people who make sure everything runs smoothly. People get paid to do that, but if you ask a truck driver if he is sure of the gratitude of the people who unpack at home what he transports on the highway, he might not be really convinced. It is said that income and money would be a sufficient incentive, but I don't think it really is just that.

I think you could say that usually people always directly and indirectly do much more for each other than they are aware of.

May you continue to get interesting guests who show you and your family something of interest and value. Greetings from Hamburg.

Sort:  

I do need to buy some staples that is for sure, my electricity comes from the sun which is amazing. I do need to buy gas to cook and I do buy rice and grains from the local co op . I am very lucky that the are I live in has a boat, where people leave things that they no longer use, clothes, books, shoes, small furniture etc so I never have to but any of them. I do love to use pallets to build things and my truck is full of upcycled products. I would liked to be more self sufficient but I am not doing to bad, we have fruit and nut trees on the land and I grow a lot of my own greens and veg.
I live in an area where we help one another out which is great, living a minimalist lifestyle but one that is full of riches x

I'd say it's not minimal in the sense of suffering, but from realizing that it is more fun to feel the impact of effectiveness. Food and what effort is connected with letting it grow or building things for living ... all this activities gives humans a sense of meaning. If the environment wasn't rich from having enough to give away, an independent life would be harder to accomplish, at least this counts for me. I am picking up as "garbage" what other people place on the streets and it often is in good condition.

So, I would describe your lifestyle as "reduced to the max". :)

I mean minimalist in the best way possible as we do not need much to thrive in life. Living in a truck with my girls means we can not have too much stuff any how and that is exactly how I like it. I do like reduced to the max xxx

Oh wow, what you write is like a post on it's own but hard to find. The thing I find intriguing the most is that the external support you are talking of eventually comes from the inside originally - or from theft (and even legal theft). But that's definitely another story. Cheers!

:) HaHa, I'd say that is my usual amount of text in the comment section when I want to engage.

What you pointed at: that's the challenging area of tension most of us live in in modern societies, isn't it? I am surrounded by hard-working servants, from far and wide, and what I can do is make my service available to the community in which I exist in this space-time. No one is independent today, civilization is too advanced for that. Everything is intertwined and interdependent. Nevertheless, to feel comfortable in this ambiguity and to make my peace with the facts of life, in the environment into which my life has carried me, a constant, never-ending task.

Bye from Germany

Well, I'd loved to disagree, but there's actually no point to bring something into question when everything is contradictory already. No treason, Lysander Spooner. Quite an infamous classic. Make taxation theft again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68