You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top schools prefer homeschooled kids

I'm curious to hear the age of home schooled students accepted to these prestigious universities. I know of a few people who went the GED route so they could graduate early and begin attending university before their peers. It's not that home schooling is superior, it simply offers more flexibility to accelerate learning if the student is driven and ready to move on to higher education.

Sort:  

I do think it is superior in the sense that we do not waste time on stuff that the kids are not yet interested in learning and therefore we can capitalize on their strengths.

It's not that home schooling is superior, it simply offers more flexibility to accelerate learning if the student is driven and ready to move on to higher education.

You just gave a very good reason why homeschooling is superior...

While it allows some students to accelerate their learning, that does not necessarily make it better. A lot of it has to do with the parents. I dated a girl who was home schooled by parents for religious reasons. They were not very bright nor driven, and definitely hampered their kids (3) education. I will agree that home schooling CAN be superior, but it is largely circumstantial. It can definitely screw kids up if the instruction is sub-par.

Good point. I completely agree, I though your comment was a little ironic when I replied but now that I look at it, it really isn't... haha

The home schooled kids who went to my college when they were 16 and 17 were always socially awkward and lacked a lot of the emotional IQ needed to really participate in group projects and the broader campus community. Sure, they were super smart and driven, but when it came down to it, they weren't ready on a maturity level to go to college. That being said, they did well on the purely academic subjects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60