You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Lost' Skills: Teaching the next generation important life skills that many have forgotten...

in #homeschooling7 years ago (edited)

This is really really great @squishysquid! What a wonderful job your daughter did on those pillows. I too am a stay at home mom that homeschools. We currently have four children ages 1, 4, 6 and 7 and we are expecting another next June!! 😃 I have taught each of them at home since the beginning and I am just amazed at the skill set and comprehension that each of them have. Everyone always thinks my kids are older because we teach them proper language and how to speak to others.

I have a passion for crocheting and am currently teaching my 7 year old daughter how to crochet. She has helped me sew before but not on her own yet. She told me she wasn’t quite ready to sit at the machine and she’d rather just assist me. To me that is better than her not wanting to learn at all. My mother is a seamstress and she tried to teach my sister and I how to sew when we were younger. We were too ignorant to appreciate that blessing and now I am an adult struggling to learn. Lol.

My 6 year old son has a passion for cooking. He watches cooking shows with me and helps me in the kitchen as much as my daughter does. He also loves to build and figure out electronics. I really believe it’s important to encourage and hone the skills that we see our children developing. That’s one thing I love about home education is that I know their strengths and weaknesses and it’s amazing to see them grow.

I also love that you all are homesteaders! That is one of our goals to own land one day and have our animals and teach our children about farming and survival. Right now we just try to eat smart and we do a lot of home remedies and use essential oils as much as possible. Well sorry I talked your ears off but it was really nice reading your post. I’ll be following you to stay in touch :) Resteemed!

Sort:  

Thanks for your lovely comment! Ill follow you as well; it sounds as though we have a lot in common!
5 kids! What a blessing! I have three kids, ages 7, 10, and 14. Sounds like you are doing a fantastic job!
I love that homeschooling allows us to focus on important things and make sure our kids learn the real skills they need as an independent adult.
We also use a lot of home remedies and essential oils! I am one of those people who gets confused about people who take their kids to the hospital every time they get the flu or a cough. You know what, that is another important life skill: How to take care of a sick person and treat various symptoms. You really dont need a doctor's help to deal with the flu except for unusual cases...

You are very welcome! We do have quite a bit in common. I don’t understand how people rush to the doctors for everything either. Most of these things can be treated effectively at home. I think that is an awesome life skill to teach as well. It was so good meeting you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67312.14
ETH 2623.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69