Gold, Gold, Gold! On An American Homestead! Plus an Update on My Rock Collection!

Hello, my name is Joshua. I am The Homeschool Kid.

Three weeks ago my dad bought me a bag of Pay Dirt from the Linch Mining Company. Pay Dirt is dirt that was scooped up from a gold mine. It comes with a pan so you can pan for gold! So today I am going to search for the gold and show you an update of my rock collection.

pay1.jpg

This is me looking for gold with tweezers.

goldpanning.jpg

These are three flakes of gold that my dad found when panning.

pay5.jpg

This is hematite "black sand" that I found when looking for gold. This is how I separated it from the dirt:

I got a rare earth magnet and put it in a sandwich bag. Then I stuck the bag with the magnet inside the dirt. Since hematite is magnetic, it sticks to the magnet inside the bag. When I pull the magnet out, then the hematite falls off.

payore.jpg

After we were done panning, we found 44 flakes of gold!

IMG_1426.JPG

IMG_1419.JPG

This is my updated rock collection.

DSCN1654.JPG

This is what I have new. You have probably noticed that I have a new box.
I have:

  • 1 desert rose.

DSCN1661.JPG

  • Another clear crystal quartz. It is not milky quartz.

DSCN1658.JPG

  • I traded my neighbor the hematite for a snowflake obsidian.

DSCN1666.JPG

  • My brother gave me a piece of fluoride because he had two. Then I traded that and a piece of pumice to my neighbor a for some pyrite "fools gold."

DSCN1667.JPG

  • More hematite! Powdered hematite!

  • Of course, now I have gold! It was worth the work. Fun too.

DSCN1665.JPG

  • 1 china brown marble.

DSCN1660.JPG

  • 1 black marble.

DSCN1662.JPG

This is my brother's rock collection.

DSCN1668.JPG

Stay tuned for more posts from The Homeschool Kid.
Please Follow and Upvote!

Sort:  

Truly fascinating! I like your rock collection. I also collect rocks that I like the shape of but I can't quite name any of them. Congrats on the gold!

A good collection there! Have you looking in the healing properties yet? 💯🐒

My home schooled son has a Steemit account also. I let him invest his piggybank money on into Steempower and delegate it to smartsteem to turn a profit... his handle is @legomonster he is planning on posting videos of his Lego creations one day. He also loves collecting rocks, I'll share your page with him I'm sure he would love to follow you..

There aren't too many homeschooling kids on here yet, and even fewer that share Lego skills. My kids are following your son now. All 4 of them love Legos. My 5 yr old, just did a video showing his Duplo build.

Awesome.. I'll let him know hes already getting some followers.. That will excite him and get him to bugging me even more to help him setup the camera.. LOL

Those are some beautiful rocks. Thank you for sharing. Which one is your favorite?

We homeschool, too. My kids share the @crowbarkids account. I will definitely show them your post in the morning. They will love it!

My favorite rock is the Pyrite.

Wow! I always find similar rocks when I'm traveling, yet it never dawned me that they are collectable. Would've picked some from my last visit to the Madives, the rocks there are breathtaking!
congratulations on the gold, and I do like the collection.

What A Great Variety!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69