You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Semester of Public School: The Ugly Truth

in #homeschool7 years ago

Very interesting post! I taught high school for five years, and I find your experience quiet similar to what I witnessed. I would like to add that our school district imposed a policy directing no teachers to enter grades of less than a 62 for the first grading period of each semester. Being the rebel that I am, I was called into a meeting for attempting to send home an "8" on a student's report card (it was earned). I refused to change the grade and was overridden by the principal, who changed it himself. When end-of-course exam scores across the board were particularly low one year, students were given their exams a second time, and only the second attempt counted. Sadly, that's not the end of the corruption.

I'm now teaching college courses and I see the effect public school is having on students. Spelling, grammar, and critical thinking skills are anemic. Thus, I dare say public school in America is oppressive. Kudos to you and your family for homeschooling!

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment, very interesting to hear your experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42