Unschooling, What Is It?

in #homeschool6 years ago (edited)

What the heck is Unschooling? Most people know what homeschooling is, but haven’t heard of unschooling. It was a foreign concept to me until I started to understand the benefits it provided for my children when implemented correctly. I say this because just like anything else there are a few bad apples that can ruin the bunch. I have noticed that there is a small percentage of the homeschooling/unschooling population that do it for the wrong reasons. Some parents don’t want to get themselves or their kids up early for school or don’t want to work on correcting behavioral issues that the school definitely doesn’t want to deal with, so they keep their kids home to play video games all day or whatever else they want. This is definitely not my idea of unschooling. Unschooling helps a child learn from their surroundings and draw from experiences they encounter on a daily basis in their everyday life. People fail to understand that we learn everyday no matter what experience we encounter. Real world situations teach us observation, problem solving, social skills just to name a few things we learn. I make sure that everyday is a learning experience for my children and I, by trying to do as many field trips and find as many opportunities to socialize as possible. There are a lot of professionals who frown upon the concept like I used to when I first observed someone utilizing this method of education! I am a mental health professional who has been won over by the concept through all the things that I have witnessed in public and private school settings. Where’s the socialization is the first thing that people ask about? They say your kids won’t be able to “fit in” with others. Well, from what I have witnessed in schools I honestly don’t want my kids to fit in with what I witness on a daily basis. I’m perfectly fine if my kids can have a conversation with a mature adult, but don’t have anything to talk about with a foul mouthed, materialistic, uncaring school aged child who wasn’t taught a darn thing by his parents. Every school has a zero tolerance for bullying, and yet almost every child I speak with as a mental health professional is being bullied! How can this be🤔? Unfortunately our society has been raising children that have no manners, no empathy for others, no respect for anyone! We have too many reality stars and celebrities preaching the wrong message to our youth! I’m not saying all children are like this, but it is a majority! Why are there children 9 years old and sometimes younger doing drugs, committing crimes, cutting themselves, displaying suicidal and homicidal ideation? I would have to say something has gone wrong with society, education, and the loss of the stay at home parent. Sure, having a parent stay at home to educate your children is a sacrifice, but it’s the best sacrifice I have ever made. Luckily I am in a situation that allows me to have the flexibility to share in the unschooling of my children, and also furthering my education and experience in the best way possible. I couldn’t see doing it any other way! I welcome you to join me as I chronicle my adventures as an unschooling parent!

F16424C3-D1FD-4227-BEE3-01245730E0E1.jpeg
Blueberry picking
809E3888-63D4-441B-8124-C001FBA0A1F4.jpeg

4E8E1805-7870-4104-88C6-F4480AB98B38.jpeg
Local history
12D638EF-AAAF-4FFB-9E61-57F561E21A15.jpeg
Learning about business and music

2FA894E0-8964-4591-B409-1B9C2F2126F6.jpeg
World history, Columbus Ships replicas

Sort:  

Congratulations @mindfulfllife! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mindfulfllife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75