Sort:  

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I gave you a vote!!

Thank you so much! :)

Thank you for sharing.

Already from the beginning of high school, I begged and begged and begged for an alternative education. I needed autonomy in my own learning, the ability to focus on what really interested me.

I resented being bored, feeling held back, being pushed and pulled in directions that didn't stimulate me.

I dropped out.

Later as an adult I made the decision to teach myself the specification for many of the high school subjects and sit the exams as a private candidate. I achieved very high grades in all of them - a vindication, i felt - of what I'd been asking to be allowed to do all along.

I've since become fanatic about homeschooling, alternative schooling, and lifelong independent learning. Good for you for doing it!

Not meaning to shamelessly plug my own posts here, but I intend to post as often as I can about science, music, and languages under the homeschooling tag, in the hope that some of it might be useful for homeschoolers and adults who have made the courageous decision to teach themselves in their own time later in life.

Anyway, thanks for this post. All the best in your journey. RESTEEMED!

Your story is very inspiring! While I didn't necessarily struggle in school, I always passed, I absolutely hated going. There was nothing that I enjoyed about it and once I got to a certain age I realized that most things I learned I quickly forgot unless they were heavily programmed in my mind from memorization. Seeing my daughter learn so much just from doing the things she loves was such an eye opener for me! Thank you for your comment it is much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41