You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Homeschool Diary #3. Portfolio Review. Trust Your Child.

in #homeschool7 years ago

When I homeschooled my kids, I would teach them something, and then have them "teach it back to me." My thought was that if they could teach the material to someone else, they had a good grasp on it. This also cuts down on boring paper work, tests, etc. and can save you time while also helping to improve their communication skills. Having an older sibling teach a younger one is good review for the older, while helping you out at the same time.

Sort:  

Thanks @denisechips! I was just telling a friend earlier how homeschooling has changed our lives - it's positive effects on the children most especially. My son now has the opportunity to satiate his curiosity much better, since he is not locked to just what he'd normally learn in school. Accordingly, he is able to influence the smaller ones and start teaching him what he knows. He'd also "quiz" me from time to time. In all fairness, I learn in the process too! " :D

I am really thankful we decided to homeschool.

So happy to hear it is working out for your family! Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43